Skip to content
Crypto Wallets · Country roundupChecked17 OCT 26

Best crypto wallets in Canada

Three of the seven wallets we rank show an Interac route for buying in the app, and some features stop at the Ontario border. We ranked them on what works in Canada and what they really cost here.

The short answer

  • The best crypto wallet in Canada for most people is the Trezor Safe 5, listed at C$199 on trezor.io before tax and shipping on October 17, 2026. The Safe 3 costs C$89. Ledger is the runner-up, and its sales terms say its Canadian prices include tax.
  • MetaMask, Exodus Mobile and Trezor Suite are the three wallets here that show an Interac e-Transfer route for buying in the app. Only MetaMask showed a sale back to Canadian dollars by Interac. That matters when you cash out.
  • Some features stop at the Ontario border. MetaMask blocks its perps in Ontario, and Hyperliquid, which runs the perps in Phantom, Rabby and Trust Wallet, excludes Ontario in its own terms. MetaMask's prediction markets and tokenized stocks are off for all of Canada.
  • The CRA says moving crypto between wallets you own is not a taxable disposition. Your wallet doesn't report you. But if Parliament passes Bill C-31, Canadian platforms will report the total value you send to private wallets, starting with 2027 data.
  • Buy hardware from the maker's own store, as the Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre advises. Tampered devices are real. A tampered Trezor Model T bought on Facebook Marketplace in Canada was reported to Trezor in August 2026. Ledger's October 2026 implant case came through a reseller in Southeast Asia.

The best crypto wallet in Canada for most people is a hardware wallet bought from its maker, and our pick is the Trezor Safe 5. Ledger is a close runner-up. Pair either one with an app chosen for what works where you live. Exodus suits beginners who hold Bitcoin. Rabby has the lowest published swap fee for Ethereum apps. MetaMask has the best route in and out of CAD, and Phantom is the one for Solana.

Canada changes the choice in ways most rankings skip. Only three of these wallets show an Interac e-Transfer route for buying inside the app, and some features stop at the Ontario border. Hardware prices aren't like for like either. Ledger's sales terms say its Canadian prices include tax, while Trezor's exclude it and its parcels come from the EU.

The C$30,000 purchase limit is a condition the securities regulators attach to each registered crypto trading platform, counted per platform, and it doesn't cover Bitcoin, Ether or several other major coins. Our section on the limit explains who it binds.

We only rank wallets with a full, scored Skrumble review, and we checked every price, block and rule on this page on October 17, 2026. Custodial apps that hold coins for you are out of scope. To buy with Canadian dollars on a registered platform first, see our best crypto exchanges in Canada.

The 7 best crypto wallets in Canada, ranked

7 ranked

Some links below are affiliate links. They never decide what is listed or where it ranks. How we make money.

How we picked

  • It has a full, published Skrumble review scored with our wallet methodology: security 40%, chain and asset support 20%, ease of use 20%, cost 10%, trust and transparency 10%.
  • You hold the keys. Exchange and broker accounts that call themselves wallets are out of scope.
  • Canadians can get it. The five software wallets and Ledger Wallet are free on Apple's Canadian App Store, and both hardware makers sell to Canada from their own stores (checked October 17, 2026).
  • We list every feature the maker switches off in Canada or in Ontario, and we checked how you pay in Canadian dollars inside the app, who runs the purchase and whether you can sell back to CAD.
  • The order weighs Canadian factors on top of the review score: Bitcoin support, what is switched off here, Interac routes and what a hardware wallet costs in Canadian dollars. That is why Trezor ranks above Ledger and Rabby, whose review scores are slightly higher, why Exodus ranks above Rabby, and why MetaMask, with the lowest score, ranks above Trust Wallet and Phantom.
  1. Trezor logo

    1. Trezor (Best overall)

    Best overall
    4.3/5Global review score

    Open-source hardware wallet from C$89, with Interac listed for Canada in Trezor Suite

    Trezor is our best overall pick for Canadians. Its firmware is open source on every model, and at setup Trezor Suite checks that the device created your wallet the documented way. Each Safe device has an EAL6+ secure element. Interac is listed too. Trezor's payment table names it for Canada in Suite's buy feature. It edges out Ledger, which scores 0.1 higher, because Ledger's October 2026 implant investigation is still open.

    Canadian price
    Safe 3 C$89, Safe 5 C$199, Safe 7 C$389 on trezor.io, before tax and shipping; Bitcoin-only editions cost the same (October 17, 2026)
    Interac
    Listed for Canada in Suite's payment table (DCBank Interac e-Transfer); partner not named
    Where to buy
    trezor.io, or Trezor's official Amazon.ca store, which Trezor says it stocks directly
    Works with
    Exodus (not with Bitcoin-only firmware; Safe 7 on Exodus Mobile only), Rabby and MetaMask (browser extension only); not Phantom

    Watch out: Mind the tax. Prices exclude it and orders ship from the EU, so a Safe 3 costs at least C$100.57 in Ontario before shipping. A tampered Model T bought second-hand in Canada was reported to Trezor in August 2026. Some resellers lose their authorization on January 1, 2027. The Safe 7's TROPIC01 chip has a lab laser flaw that firmware can't fully fix.

  2. Ledger logo

    2. Ledger (Runner-up)

    Runner-up
    4.4/5Global review score

    The hardware wallet most apps connect to, with tax included in its Canadian prices

    Ledger is the runner-up. Pick it if one device must work with many apps, since Phantom and MetaMask Mobile support Ledger but not Trezor. Its Canadian store lists five devices from C$99 to C$599. Tax is in the price, according to Ledger's sales terms. Its optional Recover backup accepts a Canadian passport, national ID or driver's licence, and Ledger's CL Card lists Canada.

    Canadian price
    Nano S Plus C$99 to Stax C$599, tax included according to Ledger's sales terms (October 17, 2026)
    Buying in Ledger Wallet
    Ledger's Canada guide names MoonPay, Transak and Coinbase Pay, by card, Apple Pay, Google Pay or bank transfer
    Ledger Recover
    Optional; US$9.99 a month after a free first month; Canadian ID accepted

    Watch out: In October 2026 Ledger confirmed hidden implants in some devices sold through CryptoBilis, a reseller in Southeast Asia. Its investigation is still open. Our advice is to buy direct from ledger.com, though Ledger still lists Best Buy Canada and Amazon.ca as resellers. Ledger's Genuine Check can't detect an implant if the original chip is intact.

  3. Exodus logo

    3. Exodus (Best for beginners)

    Best for beginners
    4.2/5Global review score

    Desktop and phone app that holds Bitcoin, with Interac buys on Exodus Mobile through Banxa

    Exodus is our pick for beginners. It runs on desktop and phone, holds Bitcoin and works with Trezor and Ledger devices. On Exodus Mobile, Canadians can buy through Banxa by Interac e-Transfer, card or Apple Pay. Rabby scores higher. But Rabby can't hold Bitcoin and publishes no Canadian buy route, so Exodus ranks above it.

    Buy with CAD
    Banxa on Exodus Mobile (Interac e-Transfer, cards, Apple Pay); MoonPay by card, Apple Pay or Google Pay
    Sell to CAD
    Not in the app; MoonPay, its only sell partner, doesn't buy crypto from Canadians
    Switched off in Canada
    Exodus Markets and Exodus Predictions
    Exodus Card
    Lists Canada; virtual card only

    Watch out: Interac buys work only on Exodus Mobile, and you can't sell back to Canadian dollars in the app. Exodus ended its browser extension on October 1, 2026, and its swap cost sits inside the quoted rate, so compare what you receive before you confirm. Exodus also settled with the US Treasury's OFAC for US$3,103,360 in December 2025.

  4. Rabby logo

    4. Rabby (Best for low fees)

    Best for low fees
    4.4/5Global review score

    Ethereum-app wallet with a 0.25% swap fee and a balance preview before you sign

    Rabby is the low-fee pick for Ethereum apps. Its 0.25% fee on swaps and bridges is well below MetaMask's 0.875% and Phantom's 0.85%. It shows how your balances should change before you sign. That helps you spot a bad approval. Audits are yearly. SlowMist checked it in August 2026 and Least Authority in October 2026.

    Fees
    0.25% on swaps and bridges
    Networks
    70+ EVM networks; no Bitcoin, Solana or Tron
    Buying with CAD
    No buy partners published for Canada
    Ontario
    Perps run on Hyperliquid, whose terms exclude Ontario; Rabby publishes no Ontario rule

    Watch out: Rabby can't hold Bitcoin, Solana or Tron, and it publishes no Canadian buy partners, so fund it from an exchange. Its perps and prediction views are region-gated with an unpublished list. Least Authority's October 2026 review of the mobile app left four medium-severity issues unresolved.

  5. MetaMask logo

    5. MetaMask (Best for Ethereum apps)

    Best for Ethereum apps
    3.9/5Global review score

    The default Ethereum-app wallet, with Interac buys and sells in the app

    MetaMask is the wallet most Ethereum apps expect, and it now holds Bitcoin, Solana and Tron too. It has the fullest Canadian dollar route here. MetaMask's in-app Buy, checked October 17, 2026, offered Interac e-Transfer through Banxa or Mercuryo, plus a sale back to Canadian dollars by Interac through Banxa. Its review score, the lowest of the seven, keeps it below Rabby, while its Canadian dollar route lifts it above Trust Wallet and Phantom.

    Interac (checked October 17, 2026)
    Buy through Banxa or Mercuryo; sell to CAD through Banxa
    Also offered in Canada
    MetaMask Card and Money Account
    Switched off
    Predictions and tokenized stocks in all of Canada; perps in Ontario

    Watch out: Fees add up. Its 0.875% swap fee is the highest published rate here, and MetaMask adds 1% to buys and sells inside the provider's quote. Its Help Center doesn't document the Interac route. Check the Buy screen before you pay. On September 30, 2026 MetaMask disclosed a security incident affecting part of its infrastructure and has published no root cause.

  6. Trust Wallet logo

    6. Trust Wallet (Best for altcoins)

    Best for altcoins
    4.1/5Global review score

    Free phone app for 100+ blockchains, on Apple's Canadian App Store

    Trust Wallet is the pick for holding many coins in one phone app, since it says it supports more than 100 blockchains. It works in Canada. The app is free on Apple's Canadian App Store, and its Express Buy with Apple Pay or Google Pay names Canada among its countries. Its perps page says Canadians can trade crypto perps, though not real-world-asset perps.

    Paying in CAD
    Trust Wallet doesn't say whether Interac is offered in Canada; Express Buy prices in USD or EUR
    Perps
    Crypto perps open to Canada, per Trust Wallet; its perps venues include Hyperliquid, which excludes Ontario
    Swap fee
    Not published

    Watch out: In December 2025 a malicious version of Trust Wallet's browser extension drained 2,520 addresses, and Trust Wallet ties about US$8.5 million to the attacker's addresses. Mobile users were not affected. It documents Ledger pairing only on the extension. Trust Wallet doesn't publish an Ontario rule for perps, so don't count on them there.

  7. Phantom logo

    7. Phantom (Best for Solana)

    Best for Solana
    4.0/5Global review score

    Solana-first app that also holds Bitcoin, Ethereum and Base

    Phantom is the pick for Solana. It also holds Bitcoin, Ethereum and Base across nine networks, previews transactions before you sign and works with Ledger devices. Its region table lists no Canada-specific block. It ranks last because its Canadian money features are thin. Bank deposits, withdrawals and the Phantom Card are for US residents only.

    US only
    Phantom Card, bank deposits and bank withdrawals
    Buying in Canada
    Providers vary by region; Phantom publishes no Canadian list
    Perps in Ontario
    Run on Hyperliquid, whose terms exclude Ontario; Phantom publishes no Ontario rule

    Watch out: Phantom has no documented way to sell to Canadian dollars, so cash out through an exchange. Its 0.85% swap fee is more than three times Rabby's. Tokenized stocks are doubtful too, because Ondo, one of its stock providers, bars Canadians. Phantom doesn't support Trezor. Its app is closed source.

Canadian crypto wallets compared

Canadian crypto wallets compared
WalletBest forTypeCost in CanadaInterac in the appSwitched off in CanadaHolds BitcoinGlobal score
Trezor logoTrezorOverallHardware + Trezor SuiteC$89 / C$199 / C$389 before taxListed for Canada; partner not namedNone publishedYes4.3/5
Ledger logoLedgerRunner-upHardware + Ledger WalletC$99 to C$599, tax included (Ledger's terms)Not statedNone publishedYes4.4/5
Exodus logoExodusBeginnersDesktop and mobile appBuilt into the swap quoteYes, through Banxa (mobile only)Markets, Predictions; no CAD sellYes4.2/5
Rabby logoRabbyLow fees (Ethereum apps)Extension, mobile, desktop0.25% on swapsNot publishedNone published; perps region-gatedNo4.4/5
MetaMask logoMetaMaskEthereum appsExtension and mobile0.875% swaps; 1% buys and sellsBuy via Banxa or Mercuryo; sell via BanxaPredictions, stocks; perps in OntarioYes3.9/5
Trust Wallet logoTrust WalletAltcoinsMobile and extensionSwap fee not publishedNot statedReal-world-asset perpsYes4.1/5
Phantom logoPhantomSolanaMobile and extension0.85% on most swapsNot statedCard and bank features (US only)Yes4.0/5

Checked October 17, 2026. Trezor prices exclude GST or HST and shipping; Ledger's sales terms say its Canadian prices include tax. MetaMask's Interac route comes from its in-app Buy, not its Help Center.

Which wallet features don't work in Canada or Ontario?

Most of what goes missing for Canadians is trading rather than storage, since no maker lists holding, sending or receiving coins as blocked anywhere in Canada. MetaMask switches off the most, with its prediction markets and tokenized stocks off across Canada and its perps off in Ontario.

Features each wallet maker says are unavailable in Canada or in Ontario, from its own pages, checked October 17, 2026.
WalletOff in all of CanadaOff in OntarioNotes
MetaMaskPredictions, tokenized stocksPerps (MetaMask's own rule)MetaMask Card and Money Account list Canada
ExodusExodus Markets, Exodus Predictions, selling to CAD in the appNo extra rule publishedExodus Card (virtual) lists Canada
Trust WalletReal-world-asset perpsNo rule published; its perps run on Hyperliquid, which excludes OntarioTrust Wallet says crypto perps are open to Canadians
PhantomCard, bank deposits and withdrawals (US only)No rule published; its perps run on HyperliquidTokenized stocks unclear, since Ondo bars Canadians
RabbyNone publishedNo rule published; its perps run on HyperliquidPerps and predictions region-gated; list unpublished
LedgerNone publishedNone publishedBuy partners set their own limits
TrezorNone publishedNone publishedBuy partners set their own limits

Ontario is the line for perpetual futures. MetaMask's block is its own published rule. Phantom, Rabby and Trust Wallet run their perps on Hyperliquid, whose terms, last updated June 15, 2026, exclude anyone located in the United States or Ontario. None of the three wallets publishes an Ontario rule, so don't count on perps in Ontario.

No wallet says why it picked Ontario. The province's regulator explains why. The Ontario Securities Commission (OSC) treats a platform that lets Ontarians in as operating in Ontario. Crypto derivatives fall under securities law. In 2022 the exchange Bybit agreed with the OSC to stop Ontario retail clients from opening new positions in perpetual swaps and futures.

Prediction markets have their own map. Polymarket lets users in Ontario, Quebec, British Columbia and Alberta close positions but not open new ones, according to its own page dated September 17, 2026. In April 2025 its operators settled with the OSC over binary options offered to Ontarians and paid a C$200,000 penalty. MetaMask goes further. It blocks its Predictions for all of Canada.

Trezor and Ledger publish no Canada or province restriction for their apps; limits set by their buy partners still apply. Paybis, one of the partners in Trezor Suite, refuses all purchases from Quebec residents, for example. Region pages change without notice. Check before you move money.

Best cold wallet in Canada: Trezor or Ledger?

The best crypto hardware wallet for most Canadians is the Trezor Safe 5, at C$199 before tax on trezor.io. Choose Ledger if you want one device for Phantom or MetaMask Mobile, which support Ledger but not Trezor. Compare delivered prices, not sticker prices.

Prices in Canadian dollars on each maker's own store, checked October 17, 2026. Trezor's prices exclude tax and shipping. Ledger's sales terms say prices for Canada include tax, and the final amount appears at checkout.
DevicePriceSecure elementNotes
Trezor Safe 3C$89 plus taxEAL6+Entry model; Bitcoin-only edition same price
Trezor Safe 5C$199 plus taxEAL6+Our pick; colour touchscreen
Trezor Safe 7C$389 plus taxEAL6+ plus TROPIC01Bluetooth
Ledger Nano S PlusC$99, tax includedEAL6+Entry model
Ledger Nano XC$149, tax includedEAL5+Bluetooth
Ledger Nano Gen5C$269, tax includedEAL6+Touchscreen; not supported in Phantom
Ledger FlexC$369, tax includedEAL6+Touchscreen
Ledger StaxC$599, tax includedEAL6+Sold with a Recovery Key

What a Trezor costs delivered to Canada

Trezor orders ship from the EU by DHL or UPS, which Trezor says takes up to 13 business days. The courier collects GST or HST, plus provincial sales tax where your province collects it at import, on the order total including shipping. For courier parcels from outside the US and Mexico, the CBSA's duty and tax free threshold is only C$20. In practice, every Trezor order gets taxed when it lands.

Run the numbers. In Ontario that makes a Safe 3 at least C$100.57 and a Safe 5 at least C$224.87, before shipping and any courier clearance fee. In a 5% GST province the floor is C$93.45 and C$208.95. Trezor declares its devices under tariff item 8471.70, which carries no customs duty in Canada's 2026 tariff. The CBSA says a courier's clearance fee is separate from duty and tax.

If you refuse to pay the import charges, Trezor has the parcel returned and refunds the order, but shipping costs are non-refundable. Ledger's store works differently. For Canadian orders the seller is Global-e US Inc., and Ledger publishes no Canadian shipping fee or delivery time. Check the total at checkout before you pay.

Trezor's firmware is open source on GitHub for every model. Ledger's app is open source too, but Ledger says its agreement with STMicroelectronics stops it publishing the low-level code that talks to the secure chip. Ledger's extra is Recover, an optional, paid backup of your recovery phrase, run by Coincover and tied to your ID. Your phrase is encrypted and split into three fragments, held by Coincover, Ledger and EscrowTech, and the service costs US$9.99 a month after a free first month, with renewals billed in euros. Canadians can verify with a passport, national ID or driver's licence.

Where to buy a hardware wallet in Canada

Buy from the maker's own store. The Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre says to buy hardware wallets directly from the manufacturer, and we agree. For Trezor that means trezor.io, and Trezor says its official Amazon.ca store is stocked by Trezor directly. Check trezor.io/resellers on the day you buy. On October 13, 2026 Trezor told some resellers they lose authorization on January 1, 2027. It hasn't said which ones.

For Ledger, buy from ledger.com. Ledger still lists Best Buy Canada and Amazon.ca as authorized resellers, but its October 2026 implant case came through the reseller channel. Since then Ledger has told resellers to keep devices off open shelves and never resell returns. Still, don't assume a seller is safe because it is authorized.

The Ledger implant case and a tampered Trezor in Canada

This part is current as of October 17, 2026. The story is still moving. In October 2026 Ledger confirmed that some devices sold through CryptoBilis, a reseller in Southeast Asia, had been opened and fitted with a hidden implant. The implant read the 24-word recovery phrase off the screen during setup and sent it out over a cellular connection. Ledger says its chip, operating system and servers were not compromised, and that its direct sales were not affected.

How much was lost is unclear. Third-party blockchain trackers estimate roughly US$72 million to US$102 million; Ledger has confirmed no figure. Ledger asked resellers in seven Asian markets to stop selling, and MediaMarktSaturn pulled Ledger products after one customer report in Germany. Ledger has confirmed cases only in devices sold through CryptoBilis; reports from other sellers are under review. It had announced no compensation.

We found no report of an affected device in Canada. Still, Ledger's own documentation says its Genuine Check cannot detect physical implants if the original secure chip is intact. Researchers said the implanted units they took apart had sold at about half price, so treat a deep discount as a warning.

Tampered Trezors exist too, and one surfaced here. In August 2026 hardware researcher Joe Grand reported to Trezor a Model T, a model Trezor stopped selling in January 2026. It had been bought second-hand on Facebook Marketplace in Canada in 2025 and had its microcontroller replaced, Zero Day reported.

Trezor says the tampered devices came from unauthorized sellers and that there is no known way to use this attack on current Safe devices. Grand disputes how reliably Trezor Suite's checks catch such units.

  • Order from trezor.io or ledger.com, never from a marketplace, social-media shop or second-hand seller.
  • Check that the device arrives without a recovery phrase set. Write the phrase down yourself and never type it into a website.
  • On a Trezor, let Suite run its authenticity and entropy checks during setup, and stop if it warns that the device may be compromised.
  • On a Ledger, run Genuine Check, but remember it can't catch an implant if the original chip is intact.

Best crypto wallet app in Canada

Exodus is the best crypto wallet app for most Canadian beginners, because it holds Bitcoin and takes Interac through Banxa on Exodus Mobile. MetaMask has the fullest Canadian dollar route, with Interac in and out, but the highest published swap fee. Rabby is cheaper for Ethereum apps. Phantom leads on Solana, and Trust Wallet says it supports more than 100 blockchains.

Published swap fees and coverage from each wallet's own pages, checked October 16 and 17, 2026. Network fees and spreads are extra.
WalletSwap feeChainsHardware wallets
Rabby0.25%70+ EVM networks11 types on the extension, including Ledger and Trezor
Phantom0.85% on most swapsNine, including Solana, Bitcoin and EthereumLedger only
MetaMask0.875%EVM networks, plus Solana, Bitcoin and TronLedger; Trezor on the extension only
ExodusBuilt into the quote; Exodus says rates start "as low as 0.5%"50+ networksTrezor and Ledger
Trust WalletNot published100+ blockchains (company figure)Ledger on the extension

Exodus is the gentlest start. It stakes nine assets and builds its swap fee into the quoted rate, which keeps the screen simple. The catch for Canadians is the exit, since you can't sell back to Canadian dollars in the app.

All five apps are free to download in Canada. You pay when you swap, buy or sell.

Want to spend crypto? The MetaMask Card, the virtual-only Exodus Card and Ledger's CL Card all list Canada, while Phantom's debit card is for US residents only.

How do you buy crypto into your own wallet in Canada?

A wallet app doesn't run the purchase itself. A payment partner such as Banxa or MoonPay checks your ID and takes your money, then sends the coins to the wallet address you choose. Three of the seven wallets show an Interac e-Transfer route for buying inside the app. MetaMask offers it through Banxa or Mercuryo, according to MetaMask's in-app Buy, checked October 17, 2026.

Exodus Mobile offers Interac through Banxa, and in Trezor Suite, Trezor's payment table lists Interac for Canada without naming the partner. Selling is rarer. Only MetaMask showed a sale back to Canadian dollars by Interac (through Banxa). Ledger, Trust Wallet, Phantom and Rabby don't say whether Interac is offered in Canada. Expect to pay by card, Apple Pay or Google Pay, or check the Buy screen yourself.

In-app ways to pay and cash out in Canadian dollars, from each wallet's own pages and MetaMask's in-app Buy, checked October 17, 2026.
WalletBuy with CADInterac in the appSell to CAD in the app
MetaMaskCards, Apple Pay and Google Pay through several partnersYes, through Banxa or MercuryoYes, by Interac through Banxa
ExodusBanxa on Exodus Mobile; MoonPay by cardYes, through Banxa (Exodus Mobile only)No; MoonPay doesn't buy from Canadians
TrezorSuite lists partners such as Banxa, Mercuryo and MoonPay; which appear depends on your countryListed for Canada; partner not namedPartners listed; Canada not confirmed
LedgerMoonPay, Transak and Coinbase Pay (Ledger's Canada guide)Doesn't sayNot stated for Canada
Trust WalletExpress Buy names Canada; priced in USD or EURDoesn't sayNot confirmed for Canada
PhantomProviders vary by region; no Canadian listDoesn't sayNo documented CAD route
RabbyNo partners publishedDoesn't sayNot documented

Who are these partners? The main ones have Canadian companies registered with FINTRAC, the federal anti-money-laundering agency, as money services businesses. That is not a seal of approval. FINTRAC says registration "does not indicate that FINTRAC endorses or licenses the business." Only Coinbase Canada is also authorized by Canadian securities regulators.

Main payment partners behind in-wallet Buy buttons in Canada. Registrations from FINTRAC's registry data (October 16, 2026); payment details from each partner's own pages, checked October 17, 2026.
PartnerCanadian company (FINTRAC number)InteracNotes
BanxaRichmond Internet Ventures Corporation (M20577911)Buy and sellNo stablecoins for Canadians
MoonPayMoonPay Canada Inc. (C10001378)Buy only; not seen in MetaMask's Interac quotesDoesn't buy crypto back from Canadians; no stablecoins
MercuryoMoneyMaple Tech Ltd. (registered in FINTRAC's October 16, 2026 data; current registration runs to November 5, 2026)BuyNo sale back to CAD
TransakTransak Canada Ltd. (C100000155)Not listedCards, Apple Pay and Google Pay in CAD
CoinbaseCoinbase Canada, Inc. (M22815925)Not in Coinbase's on-rampAlso authorized by securities regulators
PaybisPaybis Money Ltd. (C100000646)Not listedNo stablecoins; no purchases from Quebec

Stablecoins are harder to buy in a wallet. MoonPay, Banxa and Paybis say they don't sell stablecoins to Canadians; Paybis also refuses all purchases from Quebec residents. If you want USDC, buying it on a registered Canadian exchange and withdrawing it to your wallet is often simpler. Our Canadian exchanges guide covers what they list.

Phantom is the awkward case. Outside the US and EU, it says its Cash account is funded through providers such as Meld or MoonPay, which deliver USDC. Since MoonPay says stablecoins are unavailable in Canada, we couldn't confirm that route works for Canadians.

In-app buying can cost more than an exchange. MoonPay's Canadian pricing page lists a fee of up to 4.5%, and MetaMask adds its own 1% inside the provider's quote. Quotes differ by partner even for the same order, so compare the amount of crypto you receive rather than the fee line.

Registration doesn't mean a clean record. In November 2025 FINTRAC imposed a C$536,853.35 penalty on MP Technology Services Ltd., a MoonPay subsidiary, for four anti-money-laundering violations. One was failing to report suspicious attempted transactions. The company has appealed to the Federal Court, and we found no ruling yet.

Does the C$30,000 purchase limit apply to crypto wallets?

Not to the wallet itself. The C$30,000 limit is a condition the securities regulators attach to each registered crypto trading platform, counted per platform. It does not cover Bitcoin, Ether, Litecoin, Bitcoin Cash, Solana or approved stablecoins, and it does not apply to residents of Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Quebec or Saskatchewan.

In-wallet Buy buttons work differently. The main partners behind them are registered with FINTRAC as money services businesses, and they set their own order limits and identity checks. Banxa is a good example. It asks for more documents once your purchases pass C$600, and for proof of where your money came from above C$15,000.

A swap you make from your own wallet on a decentralized exchange involves no registered platform, so no platform's limit counts it. Securities law still applies to tokens that are securities and to derivatives such as perps, and you carry the token and contract risk yourself. Our Canadian exchanges guide has the platform-by-platform table.

Can CRA track crypto wallets?

Your wallet app doesn't report you to the CRA. But your activity isn't hidden. Blockchains are public records, as the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC) notes, and the CRA can get court orders that make crypto platforms hand over customer data. It has also held software contracts with blockchain-analytics firm Chainalysis since 2019. The current contract, as amended, is worth about C$2.05 million and runs to March 2027.

Big transfers leave another trail. A business covered by FINTRAC's rules must report crypto worth C$10,000 or more that it receives in one transaction, or in several within 24 hours. It has five working days to do so. FINTRAC is Canada's anti-money-laundering agency, separate from the tax authority.

What CARF would report about your wallet

Bill C-31 was at committee in the House on October 17, 2026. If Parliament passes it, Canadian crypto platforms will collect data from 2027 and file the first returns by May 1, 2028. They will report the total value and number of units you send to private wallets. They won't report the addresses, but they must keep them on file.

A business that only makes or sells wallet software or devices is not a reporting provider under the OECD rules Canada's bill adopts. Whether a wallet company that runs in-app swaps counts is not settled, and the exchanges and on-ramps behind Buy and Swap buttons may report. All of these dates depend on the bill passing.

Do you pay tax when you move crypto to your own wallet?

No. In the CRA's words, "Some transactions do not result in a taxable disposition, such as transfer of crypto-assets between wallets that you own." Selling, swapping one coin for another, paying for something or giving crypto away usually is a disposition. The CRA says its list isn't exhaustive.

Whether a disposal produces a capital gain or business income depends on how you trade. The CRA weighs six factors, such as how often you trade and how long you hold. Half of a capital gain is taxable under the law in force on October 17, 2026, while business income is taxed in full. Budget 2026, due this fall, had not been tabled.

Keep good records. The CRA asks for the address of every wallet you use. It also wants your opening and closing balance for each coin each year, and it says to keep records for at least six years. It has published nothing on gas fees, lost keys, airdrops, DeFi or staking from your own wallet. Its only explicit staking rule covers rewards earned on a centralized exchange, which are generally income when credited.

Ask a tax professional before you file. The CRA's crypto-asset guidance is the place to check current rules. Our Canadian exchanges guide covers the superficial loss rule.

What is the safest crypto wallet in Canada?

A hardware wallet bought new from its maker is the safest option for most Canadians. Trezor's open-source firmware makes it the most open of the hardware wallets here. The Canadian Centre for Cyber Security recommends storing private keys on a purpose-built tamper-resistant physical device. Five of the seven had a notable incident in the past year, though.

Notable incidents in the past year, as described by each maker or the press, checked October 16 and 17, 2026.
WalletIncidentWhat the maker says
LedgerOctober 2026: hidden implants in some devices sold through the reseller CryptoBilisChip, operating system and servers not compromised; direct sales not affected
TrezorAugust 2026: a tampered Model T bought second-hand in Canada was reported; separately, shipping partner ShipMonk exposed 80,689 customers' dataNo known way to use the attack on current Safe devices; no devices or keys affected by the leak
MetaMaskSeptember 30, 2026: incident affecting part of its infrastructureNo indication that wallets or customer funds were affected
RabbyAugust 2026: extension flaw exposing signatures under narrow conditionsFixed on August 11, 2026; no exploitation seen
Trust WalletDecember 2025: malicious browser extension version 2.68 drained 2,520 addressesMobile app not affected

Canada wasn't among the countries Trezor listed for the recent orders in the ShipMonk leak. Scams are the bigger risk here, and most aim at your recovery phrase. A Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre (CAFC) bulletin, republished by New Brunswick's Financial and Consumer Services Commission in August 2026, lists the tricks. Fraudsters use fake websites, emails, texts, calls, letters, QR codes and harmful software, and the bulletin says no wallet provider will ask you to send the phrase.

Paper letters are part of it. In February 2026 BleepingComputer reported fake letters on Trezor and Ledger letterhead. Their QR codes led to sites that ask for the recovery phrase, and the report didn't say which countries the letters reached. The BC Securities Commission (BCSC) also explains approval phishing. A fake prompt asks you to approve access to your wallet, and the BCSC shows how to revoke approvals with Etherscan or Revoke.cash.

Watch for lookalike names. Regulators here have warned about unregistered trading sites called "Trezor Group" (OSC, July 2024) and "Exodus Group" (BCSC, January 2025). Neither regulator links them to the wallet makers, and we found no Canadian regulator warning about the seven wallets themselves. Check the exact web address before you type anything.

Keep quiet about your holdings, too. Toronto police say a man abducted on July 25, 2026 was targeted for his cryptocurrency assets. Seven people, including three Canadian Armed Forces members, face 82 charges (CP24, October 14, 2026). The allegations have not been proven in court. In Port Moody, B.C., police say a 2024 home invasion aimed to steal cryptocurrency, and the man convicted got seven years in November 2025.

  • Download wallet apps only from the maker's website or the official app stores, and check the publisher.
  • Never share your recovery phrase, and ignore any letter, email or QR code that asks for it.
  • Confirm every transaction on the device screen, and revoke old token approvals.
  • Keep large balances on a hardware wallet and a small spending balance in an app.

What happens if you lose your keys or get scammed?

Lose both your device and your recovery phrase, and nobody can restore your wallet unless you set up a backup in advance, such as Ledger Recover. Guard the phrase. The FCAC warns, "If you lose your private key, you lose access to your wallets and your funds." No deposit insurer stands behind a lost phrase or a drained wallet.

Tax may soften the blow a little. The CRA says that if you've been scammed, you "may be able to claim a loss", but it gives no conditions. It says nothing about lost keys. Ask a tax professional before you claim anything, and keep a record of what happened and when.

Report fraud to your local police and the CAFC. Then expect a second wave. Recovery fraudsters often pose as police or wallet staff and promise to get your coins back for a fee. The CAFC's warning is direct. "If someone asks you to pay money to recover money you have already lost, it is a fraud."

What changed for Canadian wallet users in 2025 and 2026?

Most of the change hit features and reporting, not the wallets themselves. Bill C-31 would add new reporting rules if Parliament passes it, and both big hardware makers dealt with tampered devices sold outside their own stores. These are the dates that matter, from regulators, courts and the wallet makers' own pages.

  • March 21, 2025: the federal government cancels the proposed increase in the capital gains inclusion rate.
  • April 17, 2025: Polymarket's operators settle with the OSC over binary options offered to Ontarians.
  • November 20, 2025: FINTRAC imposes a C$536,853.35 penalty on MoonPay subsidiary MP Technology Services, which appeals.
  • December 24 to 26, 2025: a malicious Trust Wallet extension version drains 2,520 addresses.
  • January 8, 2026: Trezor stops selling the Model One and Model T on its store.
  • May 6, 2026: Bill C-31, which would bring in the Crypto-Asset Reporting Framework, gets first reading.
  • June 15, 2026: Hyperliquid last updates its terms, which exclude the US and Ontario.
  • August 2026: a CAFC bulletin warns about cryptocurrency wallet fraud.
  • September 17, 2026: Polymarket's geoblock page lists Ontario, Quebec, BC and Alberta as close-only.
  • October 1, 2026: Exodus ends its browser extension.
  • October 9 to 15, 2026: the Ledger CryptoBilis implant case; on October 13 Trezor tells some resellers they lose authorization on January 1, 2027.

Two dates are still ahead. Budget 2026 is due this fall and could change the tax rules on this page. CARF data collection would start on January 1, 2027 if Bill C-31 passes. We will re-check both and update this page when either one moves.

Canadian rules for wallet users at a glance

Regulators
Provincial securities regulators (CSA) authorize trading platforms. FINTRAC registers money services businesses; registration is not a licence or an endorsement.
Purchase limit
C$30,000 over 12 months, a condition on each registered platform, counted per platform. Doesn't cover BTC, ETH, LTC, BCH, SOL or approved stablecoins, or residents of AB, BC, MB, QC and SK.
Derivatives
MetaMask perps are off in Ontario; Hyperliquid's terms exclude Ontario.
Prediction markets
MetaMask Predictions off in all of Canada; Polymarket close-only in ON, QC, BC and AB.
Tax
Half of a capital gain is taxable under the law in force on October 17, 2026; business income in full.
Own-wallet transfers
Not a taxable disposition, per the CRA. Keep every wallet address and yearly balances for six years.
Reporting (CARF)
Bill C-31 is a bill, not law (October 17, 2026). If passed, platforms collect from 2027 and report totals sent to private wallets.
Protection
No deposit insurance for crypto; a lost recovery phrase can't be restored unless you set up a backup in advance.

Preguntas frecuentes

Legal & tax disclaimer · Canada

This page is general information, not financial or tax advice, and Skrumble is not registered with any Canadian securities regulator. Self-custody means you alone are responsible for your recovery phrase, and deposit insurance doesn't cover crypto. FINTRAC registration is not an endorsement. Features, prices and tax rules change, so check the CRA and each provider's own pages before you act. Read our full disclaimer.

References

156 dated sources behind the figures and dates on this page
Show all
  1. [1]Trezor Safe 3 (Canadian price) · Trezor · accessed
  2. [2]Trezor Safe 5 (Canadian price) · Trezor · accessed
  3. [3]Trezor Safe 7 (Canadian price, Bluetooth) · Trezor · accessed
  4. [4]Trezor Safe 3 Bitcoin-only (Canadian price) · Trezor · accessed
  5. [5]Trezor Safe 5 Bitcoin-only (Canadian price) · Trezor · accessed
  6. [6]Trezor Safe 7 Bitcoin-only (Canadian price) · Trezor · accessed
  7. [7]Trezor: who pays customs duties and import taxes on Trezor shipments · Trezor · accessed
  8. [8]Trezor: expected delivery times (13 business days outside the EU) · Trezor · accessed
  9. [9]Trezor: payment methods and countries supported (Canada, DCBank Interac e-Transfer) · Trezor · accessed
  10. [10]Trezor: trade crypto in Trezor Suite (providers) · Trezor · accessed
  11. [11]Trezor: authorized resellers (official Amazon stores) · Trezor · accessed
  12. [12]Trezor firmware source code · GitHub · accessed
  13. [13]Trezor: secure elements in Trezor Safe devices · Trezor · accessed
  14. [14]Trezor: entropy check in Trezor Suite · Trezor · accessed
  15. [15]Trezor: how long Model One and Model T will be supported · Trezor · accessed
  16. [16]Ledger Donjon: TROPIC01 laser fault injection · Ledger Donjon · published · accessed
  17. [17]Trezor: response to the TROPIC01 chip disclosure · Trezor · published · accessed
  18. [18]Trezor wallets also compromised with implants (Canadian Model T) · Zero Day · published · accessed
  19. [19]Ledger pulls devices from Asian markets as Trezor cuts resellers · Blockhead · published · accessed
  20. [20]Trezor: customer data exposed in shipping provider incident · Trezor · published · accessed
  21. [21]Exodus: getting started with Trezor Safe 7 on Exodus Mobile · Exodus · accessed
  22. [22]Ledger Nano S Plus, Canadian store price · Ledger · accessed
  23. [23]Ledger Nano X, Canadian store price · Ledger · accessed
  24. [24]Ledger Nano Gen5, Canadian store price · Ledger · accessed
  25. [25]Ledger Flex, Canadian store price · Ledger · accessed
  26. [26]Ledger Stax, Canadian store price · Ledger · accessed
  27. [27]Ledger store terms and conditions for Canada (tax included, Global-e US Inc.) · Ledger / Global-e · accessed
  28. [28]Ledger: authorized resellers in Canada · Ledger · accessed
  29. [29]Ledger: crypto in Canada (buy partners in Ledger Wallet) · Ledger · published · accessed
  30. [30]Ledger CL Card (available countries) · Ledger · accessed
  31. [31]Ledger Recover: prices and ID countries · Ledger · accessed
  32. [32]Ledger Academy: what is Ledger Recover? · Ledger · published · accessed
  33. [33]Ledger Academy: is Ledger open source? · Ledger · published · accessed
  34. [34]Ledger: response to the hardware implant attack · Ledger · published · accessed
  35. [35]Ledger says unauthorized implant found in device sold by CryptoBilis · CoinDesk · published · accessed
  36. [36]Ledger confirms spy chip implant behind wallet crypto thefts (half-price units) · BleepingComputer · published · accessed
  37. [37]Ledger asks sellers across Asia to halt sales after supply-chain attack · BleepingComputer · published · accessed
  38. [38]Ledger asks resellers in seven Asian markets to pull devices · Decrypt · published · accessed
  39. [39]Ledger confirms hidden implant as theft probe grows (US$72 million low estimate) · CoinCentral · published · accessed
  40. [40]Ledger suspends retail sales in Germany as implant probe continues (Bitquery, about US$102 million) · crypto.news · published · accessed
  41. [41]Ledger confirms hardware implant linked to USD 102 million theft · Analytics Insight · published · accessed
  42. [42]MediaMarkt parent pulls Ledger wallets amid tampering reports · Cointelegraph · published · accessed
  43. [43]Ledger's implant update and compensation status · Yahoo Tech · published · accessed
  44. [44]Ledger Donjon threat model: device genuineness · Ledger Donjon · accessed
  45. [45]Phantom: hardware wallet support (Ledger; no Trezor or Nano Gen5) · Phantom · accessed
  46. [46]MetaMask: hardware wallet hub · MetaMask · accessed
  47. [47]Exodus: how can I buy Bitcoin and crypto (Banxa, Interac, Canada) · Exodus · published · accessed
  48. [48]Exodus: how do I sell crypto with MoonPay · Exodus · published · accessed
  49. [49]Exodus: which features vary by location (Markets, Predictions) · Exodus · published · accessed
  50. [50]Exodus: getting started with Exodus Pay (card countries) · Exodus · published · accessed
  51. [51]Exodus: support for the browser extension has ended · Exodus · published · accessed
  52. [52]Exodus: how to stake crypto · Exodus · accessed
  53. [53]Exodus home page (swap rates "as low as 0.5%") · Exodus · accessed
  54. [54]Exodus: which assets does Exodus support (50+ networks) · Exodus · accessed
  55. [55]Exodus and Ledger (supported devices) · Exodus · accessed
  56. [56]OFAC: settlement with Exodus Movement, Inc. · US Treasury (OFAC) · published · accessed
  57. [57]Rabby: how to use Rabby Swap (0.25% fee) · Rabby · published · accessed
  58. [58]Rabby: supported networks and tokens · Rabby · published · accessed
  59. [59]Rabby: supported hardware wallets · Rabby · published · accessed
  60. [60]Rabby: understanding transaction simulation · Rabby · accessed
  61. [61]Rabby extension audit reports (SlowMist, Least Authority) · Rabby (GitHub) · accessed
  62. [62]Rabby mobile audit reports · Rabby (GitHub) · accessed
  63. [63]Rabby terms of use · Rabby (GitHub) · accessed
  64. [64]Rabby region messages for Perps and Prediction · Rabby (GitHub) · accessed
  65. [65]Rabby on X: extension flaw fixed August 11 · Rabby · published · accessed
  66. [66]MetaMask in-app Buy: regions (Canada buy and sell enabled) · MetaMask · accessed
  67. [67]MetaMask in-app Buy: Ontario payment methods (Interac) · MetaMask · accessed
  68. [68]MetaMask in-app Buy: Interac quote providers by province (Banxa, Mercuryo) · MetaMask · accessed
  69. [69]MetaMask in-app Sell: Interac payout (Banxa) · MetaMask · accessed
  70. [70]MetaMask: how to sell crypto for fiat (Help Center regions) · MetaMask · accessed
  71. [71]MetaMask: what is perp trading (Ontario excluded) · MetaMask · accessed
  72. [72]MetaMask: how to trade predictions (Canada excluded) · MetaMask · accessed
  73. [73]MetaMask: real-world assets (Canada excluded) · MetaMask · accessed
  74. [74]MetaMask: Money Account (availability) · MetaMask · accessed
  75. [75]MetaMask Card: eligible countries · MetaMask · accessed
  76. [76]MetaMask: swaps user guide (0.875% fee) · MetaMask · accessed
  77. [77]MetaMask: buy FAQs (1% fee) · MetaMask · accessed
  78. [78]MetaMask adds native Solana support · The Block · published · accessed
  79. [79]MetaMask rolls out Bitcoin support · The Block · published · accessed
  80. [80]MetaMask adds Tron · Decrypt · published · accessed
  81. [81]MetaMask: user update on the security incident · MetaMask · published · accessed
  82. [82]Trust Wallet: buy crypto (providers) · Trust Wallet · accessed
  83. [83]Trust Wallet: buy crypto with Apple Pay and Google Pay (Express Buy countries, USD and EUR) · Trust Wallet · published · accessed
  84. [84]Trust Wallet: perps (Canada, Hyperliquid, RWA perps) · Trust Wallet · accessed
  85. [85]Trust Wallet browser extension v2.68 incident update · Trust Wallet · published · accessed
  86. [86]Trust Wallet developers add Ledger support (extension) · ForkLog · published · accessed
  87. [87]Trust Wallet: swap · Trust Wallet · accessed
  88. [88]Trust Wallet home page (100+ blockchains) · Trust Wallet · accessed
  89. [89]Apple App Store, Canada: Trust Wallet, MetaMask, Phantom, Exodus, Rabby and Ledger Wallet listings · Apple · accessed
  90. [90]Phantom: feature availability by region · Phantom · accessed
  91. [91]Phantom Perps (powered by Hyperliquid) · Phantom · published · accessed
  92. [92]Phantom: buy tokens in the browser extension (providers vary by region) · Phantom · accessed
  93. [93]Phantom: fund your Cash account (Meld or MoonPay outside the US and EU) · Phantom · accessed
  94. [94]Phantom: swap fees (0.85%) · Phantom · accessed
  95. [95]Phantom: supported networks · Phantom · accessed
  96. [96]Walletbeat: Phantom (source code not public) · Walletbeat · accessed
  97. [97]Ondo Global Markets: eligibility (Canada prohibited) · Ondo Finance · accessed
  98. [98]Hyperliquid terms of use (US and Ontario excluded) · Hyperliquid · published · accessed
  99. [99]CSA Staff Notice 21-327: trading crypto assets (derivatives) · Canadian Securities Administrators · published · accessed
  100. [100]OSC takes action against crypto asset trading platform Bybit · Ontario Securities Commission · published · accessed
  101. [101]Capital Markets Tribunal: order in the matter of Bybit Fintech Limited · Capital Markets Tribunal · published · accessed
  102. [102]Polymarket: geoblock (close-only provinces) · Polymarket · published · accessed
  103. [103]OSC reaches settlement with operators of Polymarket · Ontario Securities Commission · published · accessed
  104. [104]FINTRAC: money services business registry data (list.json) · FINTRAC · published · accessed
  105. [105]FINTRAC: MSB registry (registration is not an endorsement) · FINTRAC · published · accessed
  106. [106]FINTRAC: penalty imposed on MP Technology Services Ltd. · FINTRAC · published · accessed
  107. [107]CSA: crypto platforms authorized to do business with Canadians · Canadian Securities Administrators · published · accessed
  108. [108]MoonPay API: supported countries (Canada buy yes, sell no) · MoonPay · accessed
  109. [109]MoonPay: list of supported cryptocurrencies (stablecoins unavailable in Canada) · MoonPay · published · accessed
  110. [110]MoonPay Canada: pricing disclosure (up to 4.5%) · MoonPay · accessed
  111. [111]Banxa: geographic and asset restrictions (no stablecoins in Canada) · Banxa · accessed
  112. [112]Banxa: global KYC framework (Canadian tiers) · Banxa · accessed
  113. [113]Banxa: supported payment methods (Interac buy and sell) · Banxa · accessed
  114. [114]Mercuryo: terms (services provided by MoneyMaple Tech Ltd.) · Mercuryo · accessed
  115. [115]Mercuryo: supported fiat currencies (CAD buy yes, sell no) · Mercuryo · accessed
  116. [116]MoonPay: buying crypto with Interac e-Transfer · MoonPay · published · accessed
  117. [117]Transak: supported countries (Canada) · Transak · accessed
  118. [118]Transak: on-ramp payment methods and limits (no Interac) · Transak · published · accessed
  119. [119]Coinbase Onramp: payment methods (no Interac) · Coinbase · accessed
  120. [120]Paybis: payment methods (no Interac) · Paybis · accessed
  121. [121]Mercuryo: supported payment methods (Interac e-Transfer) · Mercuryo · accessed
  122. [122]Paybis: supported countries (stablecoins and Quebec) · Paybis · accessed
  123. [123]OSC Staff Notice 33-757: restricted dealer crypto asset trading platforms (C$30,000 limit) · Ontario Securities Commission · published · accessed
  124. [124]OSC decision: Payward Canada Inc. variation adding Solana · Ontario Securities Commission · published · accessed
  125. [125]OSC decision: Foris DAX CAN ULC (provinces where the limit does not apply) · Ontario Securities Commission · published · accessed
  126. [126]CRA: income from crypto-asset transactions (own-wallet transfers, dispositions) · Canada Revenue Agency · published · accessed
  127. [127]CRA: books and records for crypto-asset users · Canada Revenue Agency · published · accessed
  128. [128]CRA: income from crypto-asset mining and staking · Canada Revenue Agency · published · accessed
  129. [129]CRA: information for crypto-asset users and tax professionals · Canada Revenue Agency · published · accessed
  130. [130]CRA: reporting your capital gains as a crypto-asset user (scam losses) · Canada Revenue Agency · published · accessed
  131. [131]CRA: how the CRA combats tax evasion (court-authorized requirements) · Canada Revenue Agency · published · accessed
  132. [132]Proactive disclosure: CRA contract with Chainalysis, Inc. (amended to 2027-03-22) · Government of Canada (Open Government) · accessed
  133. [133]Proactive disclosure: CRA contracts with Chainalysis since 2019 · Government of Canada (Open Government) · accessed
  134. [134]Income Tax Act, section 38 (one-half inclusion rate) · Justice Canada · published · accessed
  135. [135]Finance Canada: consultations ahead of Budget 2026 · Finance Canada · published · accessed
  136. [136]Prime Minister cancels proposed capital gains tax increase · Office of the Prime Minister · published · accessed
  137. [137]LEGISinfo: Bill C-31 status · Parliament of Canada · accessed
  138. [138]Bill C-31, first reading (Part XXI, Crypto-Asset Reporting Framework) · Parliament of Canada · published · accessed
  139. [139]OECD: Crypto-Asset Reporting Framework and commentary · OECD · published · accessed
  140. [140]FINTRAC: large virtual currency transaction reports · FINTRAC · published · accessed
  141. [141]CBSA: low-value shipment thresholds (C$20 courier threshold) · Canada Border Services Agency · published · accessed
  142. [142]CBSA: casual goods imported by courier (clearance fees, PST and HST) · Canada Border Services Agency · published · accessed
  143. [143]CBSA: Customs Tariff 2026, chapter 84 (8471.70) · Canada Border Services Agency · published · accessed
  144. [144]CRA: GST/HST rates by province · Canada Revenue Agency · published · accessed
  145. [145]FCAC: digital currency (legal tender, deposit insurance, private keys, blockchains) · Financial Consumer Agency of Canada · published · accessed
  146. [146]CAFC: investment fraud (buy hardware wallets from the manufacturer) · Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre · published · accessed
  147. [147]CAFC bulletin: cryptocurrency wallet fraud (republished by FCNB) · Financial and Consumer Services Commission (New Brunswick) · published · accessed
  148. [148]CAFC: impersonation scams (recovery fraud) · Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre · published · accessed
  149. [149]Canadian Centre for Cyber Security: cryptocurrency (ITSAP.00.650) · Canadian Centre for Cyber Security · published · accessed
  150. [150]BCSC: Operation Avalanche (approval phishing, revoking approvals) · BC Securities Commission · accessed
  151. [151]Snail mail letters target Trezor and Ledger users in crypto theft attacks · BleepingComputer · published · accessed
  152. [152]OSC investor warning: Trezor Group · Ontario Securities Commission · published · accessed
  153. [153]BCSC investment caution list: Exodus Group · BC Securities Commission · published · accessed
  154. [154]OSC: investor warnings and alerts · Ontario Securities Commission · accessed
  155. [155]Violent abduction targeting man's crypto assets leads to arrests (Toronto) · CP24 · published · accessed
  156. [156]Port Moody Police: man sentenced in home invasion · Port Moody Police Department · published · accessed