Crypto-friendly banks and neobanks in the UK
We checked how 23 UK banks, building societies and money apps treat payments to crypto exchanges, using each one's own help pages. Most cap or block them; Revolut, PayPal and eToro sell crypto in their own apps.
The short answer
- No major UK high-street bank sells crypto, and most limit what you can send to a crypto exchange. Of 23 banks and money apps we checked, 8 block those payments (two of them according to an industry survey) and 9 cap them.
- The most generous published caps are Barclays and HSBC at £2,500 per payment and £10,000 a month or 30 days. Monzo allows £5,000 in any rolling 30 days.
- Starling, Metro Bank, the Co-operative Bank, Kroo, Zopa and Monese block payments to crypto exchanges outright.
- Revolut is the one neobank we've reviewed that sells crypto in its app in the UK, through Revolut Ltd (FCA registration 900562). PayPal and eToro also sell crypto to UK customers.
- Almost every UK bank blocks crypto purchases on credit cards, and the £85,000 scam refund scheme doesn't cover money you send to your own exchange account.
There is no fully crypto-friendly high-street bank in the UK. None of the big banks sells crypto, and most of them limit or block payments to crypto exchanges to fight investment scams. The differences between them are still large, from £1,000 a day at Nationwide to a complete block at Starling. We checked each bank's own help pages in October 2026 and put every published limit in one table below.
If you want to buy crypto inside a banking app, the UK options are short. Revolut sells about 300 tokens through Revolut Ltd, which is registered with the FCA as a cryptoasset business, and it is the only neobank here with a full Skrumble review. PayPal lets you buy, hold and sell crypto but not move it out, and eToro, an investing platform, has its own money account. Monzo, Starling and the high-street banks don't sell crypto at all.
Banks set these limits themselves, and they change them without much notice. Treat the table as a starting point, check your bank's page before a large transfer, and expect a 24-hour cooling-off period the first time you sign up to an exchange. Our guide to the best crypto exchanges in the UK covers where to send the money.
On this page
The neobank we rank for crypto in the UK
1 rankedSome links below are affiliate links. They never decide what is listed or where it ranks. How we make money.
How we picked
- It has a full, published Skrumble review scored with our neobank methodology.
- It sells crypto to UK customers inside its own app, through a company on the FCA's cryptoasset register.
- Banks and apps without a Skrumble review are described from their own help pages only, in the table below, and are not ranked.
1. Revolut (Best for crypto in a banking app)
Best for crypto in a banking app3.9/5Global review scoreAbout 300 tokens, staking and its own exchange, in the same app as your account
Revolut is the only UK neobank we've reviewed that sells crypto in its own app. Crypto is provided by Revolut Ltd, which is on the FCA's cryptoasset register (FRN 900562), even for customers whose current account has moved to Revolut's new UK bank. You can buy about 300 tokens, stake 16 of them, send BTC, ETH and 30+ other tokens to an outside wallet, and trade on its Revolut X exchange.
- Crypto provider
- Revolut Ltd, FCA-registered cryptoasset business (FRN 900562)
- Banking
- Revolut Bank UK Ltd, a full UK bank since March 2026; customers move across gradually
- App crypto fee
- Greater of a minimum fee or 1.49% (Standard, Plus) or 0.99% (Premium, Metal); the quoted price also includes the market spread
- Revolut X
- 0% maker, 0.09% taker
- Self-custody
- Send to and receive from external wallets for BTC, ETH and 30+ other tokens (UK)
- Protection
- Crypto is not FSCS-protected and isn't safeguarded
Watch out: In-app crypto is expensive for small buys: 1.49% or a minimum fee on Standard and Plus plans, and the price you're quoted already includes the market spread. Use Revolut X if you trade often. Your crypto stays with Revolut Ltd and outside the FSCS, even after your current account moves to Revolut's bank.
Which UK banks are crypto friendly?
None of them sells crypto, but some let you send more to an exchange than others. Barclays and HSBC have the most generous published caps, £2,500 per payment and £10,000 a month (HSBC counts any 30 days). Monzo allows £5,000 in any rolling 30 days. Six banks and apps block payments to exchanges outright, and we couldn't find a published crypto limit for Lloyds, Halifax or Bank of Scotland.
| Bank or app | Payments to crypto exchanges | Credit cards | Sells crypto? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Barclays | £2,500 per payment and £10,000 a calendar month (from 2 December 2025); debit card £10,000 a month, counting payments in and out (£0 on Basic and Student accounts) | Barclaycard blocked since 27 June 2025 | No |
| HSBC UK | £2,500 per payment and £10,000 in any rolling 30 days | Refused | No |
| first direct | £2,500 per payment and £10,000 in any rolling 30 days | Refused | No |
| Monzo | £5,000 in any rolling 30 days; payments to Binance stopped | Not stated | No |
| Chase UK | Only to your own account at an FCA-registered UK firm: £1,000 a day and £5,000 in any rolling 30 days | Card payments to crypto services declined | No |
| NatWest | £1,000 a day and £5,000 in any 30 days, per account | Blocked since February 2018 | No |
| Royal Bank of Scotland | £1,000 a day and £5,000 in any 30 days, per account | Blocked since February 2018 | No |
| Santander UK | £1,000 per payment and £3,000 in any rolling 30 days; payments to Binance stopped | Not stated | No |
| Nationwide | £1,000 a day by bank transfer and £1,000 a day by debit card | Blocked | No |
| Lloyds, Halifax, Bank of Scotland | No crypto limit found on their sites | Blocked since February 2018 (press reports) | No |
| Starling | Blocked: no buying or selling crypto by debit card or bank transfer | No credit card | No |
| Metro Bank | Blocked since November 2024, all products and payment methods | Included in the block | No |
| The Co-operative Bank | Blocked: "Is there any way I can make a cryptocurrency payment? No." | Included in the block | No |
| Kroo | Blocked both ways: card payments and transfers declined, incoming payments returned | No credit card | No |
| Zopa | Blocked: transfers and card payments to exchanges declined | Not stated | No |
| Monese | Blocked: crypto transactions never accepted | No credit card | No |
| Wise | Account transfers to exchanges blocked; Wise says its card can be used on crypto platforms | No credit card | No |
| Curve | Allowed, with a high-risk merchant service fee; the card behind it may still decline | Depends on the card | No |
| Revolut | No exchange-specific block found | Not applicable | Yes (Revolut Ltd) |
| TSB and Virgin Money | No policy page found; an industry survey in January 2026 reported both blocking | Virgin Money blocked since 2018 (press) | No |
Where a limit is shown "a month", the bank counts calendar months; "30 days" means a rolling window. HSBC, first direct and NatWest say money coming back from an exchange isn't blocked or limited, Santander says it doesn't restrict payments coming in from Binance, and Metro Bank told Banking Dive that customers can still receive money from exchanges. Kroo returns incoming payments from crypto providers, and Starling has restricted them since 2022.
Can you buy crypto in your UK banking app?
Only in a few apps. Revolut is the main one: it sells about 300 tokens, offers staking and lets you withdraw to your own wallet. PayPal's UK crypto hub lets you buy, hold and sell, but not send coins anywhere or move them to an outside wallet. eToro sells crypto on its investing platform and pairs it with an eToro Money account and card.
| App | Crypto provided by | What you can do | Limits worth knowing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revolut | Revolut Ltd (FRN 900562) | Buy and sell about 300 tokens, stake 16, send BTC, ETH and 30+ others to outside wallets, trade on Revolut X | App fee 1.49% (Standard, Plus) or 0.99% (Premium, Metal) or a minimum fee; quoted price includes the market spread |
| PayPal | PayPal UK Ltd (FRN 1000741) | Buy, hold and sell | No transfers to outside wallets or other people; no credit cards; price includes a mark-up |
| eToro | eToro (UK) Ltd (FRN 583263) | Buy and sell on the investing platform; GBP account and card via eToro Money | 1% fee per position on standard tiers; market spread applies; 2% fee to move crypto to the eToro Money wallet |
Monzo, Starling, Chase and the high-street banks don't sell crypto. Two investing apps also sell crypto to UK customers: IG since June 2025, through Uphold, and Robinhood since August 2026, through Bitstamp UK.
Is Revolut crypto friendly?
Yes, it is the most complete crypto offer of any UK neobank. Revolut sells crypto through Revolut Ltd, which is on the FCA's cryptoasset register, under separate crypto terms from your account. That matters as Revolut moves customers to its new bank: Revolut Bank UK Ltd's restrictions were lifted in March 2026, so eligible deposits there are FSCS-protected, but crypto stays with Revolut Ltd and isn't.
Costs depend on your plan. In the app, Standard and Plus customers pay the greater of a minimum fee or 1.49% per trade, Premium and Metal customers 0.99%. The price you're quoted also includes the market spread, which Revolut says isn't an extra fee of its own. Revolut X, its exchange for more active traders, charges 0% for maker orders and 0.09% for taker orders. Revolut says it may limit how much crypto you can buy or sell, and it tells you the limit before accepting an order.
Our full Revolut review covers staking rewards, withdrawals to your own wallet and how Revolut compares with a dedicated exchange.
Why do UK banks block crypto payments?
Scams. Banks say they limit payments to exchanges to protect customers, because in a typical investment scam the victim sends money to a crypto account in their own name, buys crypto, then passes it to a fraudster. UK Finance says investment scam losses reached £221.5 million in 2025, up 40% on 2024, though its figures don't separate out crypto.
The refund rules push banks the same way. The mandatory reimbursement scheme for authorised push payment fraud, capped at £85,000, doesn't cover money you send to your own account at a crypto exchange. The Financial Ombudsman Service can still look at whether your bank should have done more to stop a payment, including payments to crypto providers.
The crypto industry argues the blocks go too far. A January 2026 survey by the UK Cryptoasset Business Council of ten exchanges said about 40% of payments to them were blocked or delayed, including payments to FCA-registered firms. That is an industry survey, not regulator data. UK Finance, which represents the banks, told MPs in October 2026 that limits vary by bank and reflect each lender's assessment of fraud risk.
What can you do if your bank blocks a crypto payment?
First check that you are paying a legitimate, FCA-registered exchange: a blocked payment is sometimes the bank stopping a scam. Then stay inside your bank's limit, or use an account at a bank that allows larger transfers.
- Confirm the exchange's UK company on the FCA register and that you are paying an account in its name.
- Split a large purchase across your bank's monthly or 30-day limit rather than retrying a blocked payment, which some banks treat as a warning sign.
- Read your bank's rules before you ask it to review a blocked payment. Chase, for example, only allows payments to your own account at an FCA-registered UK firm.
- Don't use a credit card. Almost every UK bank blocks crypto purchases on credit cards, and PayPal refuses credit funding for crypto buys.
- Be careful with workarounds. Curve allows crypto merchants but charges a high-risk merchant fee, and the card behind it may still decline the payment or treat it as a cash advance.
- If someone is coaching you to move money to crypto, stop and report it to your bank and to Report Fraud.
Can you spend crypto with a UK debit card?
Yes, through a crypto card rather than a bank. Revolut lets UK customers spend their crypto balance with its card, and dedicated crypto cards such as the Coinbase Card, issued in the UK by Paysafe, do the same from an exchange account. Spending crypto counts as a disposal for capital gains tax, so each purchase can create a taxable gain.
UK bank and crypto rules at a glance
- Who sets the limits
- Each bank sets its own limits on payments to crypto exchanges; there is no single UK rule.
- Typical caps
- £1,000 a day (NatWest, Nationwide, Chase) to £2,500 per payment and £10,000 a month (Barclays, HSBC).
- Full blocks
- Starling, Metro Bank, the Co-operative Bank, Kroo, Zopa and Monese.
- Credit cards
- Blocked for crypto at almost every UK bank; PayPal refuses credit funding for crypto.
- Apps that sell crypto
- Revolut (Revolut Ltd), PayPal UK and eToro, each through an FCA-registered company.
- Scam refunds
- The £85,000 authorised push payment scheme doesn't cover payments to your own exchange account.
- Protection
- Crypto isn't covered by the FSCS, wherever you buy it.
- Tax
- Selling, swapping or spending crypto is a disposal for capital gains tax; the 2026/27 allowance is £3,000.
Preguntas frecuentes
Legal & tax disclaimer · United Kingdom
This page is general information, not financial advice, and Skrumble is not authorised by the FCA. Bank limits change at short notice, so check your bank's own page before a large transfer. Don't invest unless you're prepared to lose all the money you invest. Crypto is not covered by the FSCS. Read our full disclaimer.
References
48 dated sources behind the figures and dates on this pageShow allHide
- [1]Barclays: crypto currency payment restrictions · Barclays · accessed
- [2]Barclays: debit card crypto currency transactions · Barclays · accessed
- [3]Barclaycard: crypto currency restrictions · Barclays · accessed
- [4]HSBC UK: cryptocurrency · HSBC UK · accessed
- [5]first direct: cryptocurrency · first direct · accessed
- [6]Monzo: cryptocurrency allowance · Monzo · accessed
- [7]Monzo: why payments to Binance are blocked · Monzo · accessed
- [8]Chase UK: crypto payments · Chase UK · published · accessed
- [9]NatWest: payments to cryptocurrency exchanges · NatWest · accessed
- [10]RBS: payments to cryptocurrency exchanges · Royal Bank of Scotland · accessed
- [11]Santander UK: cryptocurrency · Santander UK · accessed
- [12]Nationwide: crypto payment restrictions · Nationwide · accessed
- [13]Lloyds Bank bans bitcoin credit card payments · Which? · published · accessed
- [14]Starling: why have you declined my cryptocurrency transaction · Starling Bank · accessed
- [15]Starling Bank bans crypto transactions · UKTN · published · accessed
- [16]Metro Bank: fraud and security (crypto exchange payments) · Metro Bank · accessed
- [17]The Co-operative Bank: cryptocurrency · The Co-operative Bank · published · accessed
- [18]Kroo: can I use cryptocurrency · Kroo · published · accessed
- [19]Zopa: transaction limits on my account · Zopa · accessed
- [20]Wise: understanding Wise's position on cryptocurrency · Wise · accessed
- [21]Monese: keep safe from fraud · Monese · accessed
- [22]Curve: terms and conditions · Curve · published · accessed
- [23]Virgin Money bans cryptocurrency purchases on its credit cards · Reuters via Business Standard · published · accessed
- [24]UK banks block or delay payments to crypto platforms, exchange survey finds · The Block · published · accessed
- [25]Revolut: UK cryptocurrency terms · Revolut · published · accessed
- [26]Revolut: UK crypto fees · Revolut · published · accessed
- [27]Revolut UK: crypto · Revolut · accessed
- [28]Revolut launches its UK bank · Revolut · accessed
- [29]FCA register: Revolut Ltd, FRN 900562 · Financial Conduct Authority · accessed
- [30]PayPal UK: cryptocurrencies terms and conditions · PayPal · published · accessed
- [31]eToro: regulation and licence · eToro · published · accessed
- [32]eToro: fees · eToro · published · accessed
- [33]Robinhood to offer access to crypto trading in UK · Bloomberg Tax · published · accessed
- [34]IG debuts crypto investing for UK retail clients · Finextra · published · accessed
- [35]Revolut: who provides Revolut's crypto services · Revolut · accessed
- [36]Revolut: what is staking · Revolut · accessed
- [37]Coinbase Card (UK) · Coinbase · accessed
- [38]FCA Handbook COBS 4.12A: promotion of qualifying cryptoassets · Financial Conduct Authority · accessed
- [39]Kraken decries crypto de-banking amid Metro Bank ban · Banking Dive · published · accessed
- [40]UK Finance tells crypto APPG banks are not shutting out the sector · Disruption Banking · published · accessed
- [41]FCA register: registered cryptoasset firms · Financial Conduct Authority · accessed
- [42]UK Finance: Annual Fraud Report 2026 · UK Finance · published · accessed
- [43]PSR: APP fraud reimbursement protections · Payment Systems Regulator · accessed
- [44]PSR PS25/5: APP scams reimbursement, consolidated policy statement · Payment Systems Regulator · accessed
- [45]Financial Ombudsman Service: APP fraud and scams involving authorised payments · Financial Ombudsman Service · accessed
- [46]Report Fraud: new service from City of London Police · GOV.UK · published · accessed
- [47]HMRC: check if you need to pay tax when you sell cryptoassets · HM Revenue & Customs · published · accessed
- [48]HMRC: Capital Gains Tax rates and allowances · HM Revenue & Customs · published · accessed