Crypto-friendly banks and neobanks in Australia
We checked how 27 Australian banks, bank brands and money apps treat payments to crypto exchanges, using each one's own pages. Most cap or block them, and Revolut, now a licensed bank, is the only one we found that sells crypto in its app.
The short answer
- No big-four bank sells crypto, and CommBank, ANZ Plus, NAB and Westpac all restrict payments to crypto exchanges. Of 27 banks and money apps we checked, 8 publish a monthly cap, 9 restrict them without publishing a cap, and HSBC blocks them all. Wise blocks transfers to exchanges but allows its card.
- The highest published caps are A$10,000 a month, at CommBank, Bankwest, ANZ Plus (after you switch off Crypto Protect), Bank Australia, BCU Bank and Qudos Bank. ME Bank and Virgin Money allow A$5,000.
- CommBank no longer lets you set up new scheduled payments to exchanges, and it now says it may decline some payments coming back from them.
- Revolut, a licensed Australian bank since 21 July 2026, is the only bank we found that sells crypto in its app. Its crypto isn't covered by the Financial Claims Scheme, and you can't withdraw it to an outside wallet.
- NAB, Westpac and St.George publish no dollar limit on crypto payments. Limits quoted elsewhere for them don't come from the banks' own pages.
There is no fully crypto-friendly big bank in Australia. None of the big four sells crypto, and CommBank, ANZ Plus, NAB and Westpac all restrict payments to crypto exchanges to fight scams. The rules differ a lot: CommBank and ANZ Plus allow A$10,000 a calendar month, NAB and Westpac block exchanges they rate high-risk without publishing a cap, and HSBC declines every payment to an exchange. We checked each bank's own pages on 17 October 2026 and put every published rule in one table below.
If you want to buy crypto inside a banking app, Revolut is the one option we found. APRA licensed it as an Australian bank in July 2026, but its crypto sits outside that protection: it isn't covered by the Financial Claims Scheme, and you can't withdraw it to your own wallet. Up, ING, Macquarie and the other banks we checked don't sell crypto.
Banks change these rules with little notice. CommBank's page now also bars new scheduled payments to exchanges and warns that it may decline money coming back. Check your bank's page before a large transfer, and see our guide to the best crypto exchanges in Australia for where to send the money.
On this page
The bank we rank for crypto in Australia
1 rankedSome links below are affiliate links. They never decide what is listed or where it ranks. How we make money.
How we picked
- It has a full, published Skrumble review scored with our neobank methodology.
- It sells crypto to Australian customers inside its own app.
- Banks and apps without a Skrumble review are described from their own pages only, in the table below, and are not ranked.
1. Revolut (Best for crypto in a banking app)
Best for crypto in a banking app3.9/5Global review scoreA licensed Australian bank that sells crypto in its app, with no outside withdrawals
Revolut is the only bank we found in Australia that sells crypto inside its own app, and the only one with a full Skrumble review. APRA licensed Revolut Payments Australia as a bank (an ADI) on 21 July 2026, so eligible AUD deposits are covered by the Financial Claims Scheme up to A$250,000. The crypto is not: Revolut says its crypto products are unregulated in Australia, aren't provided under its AFSL and aren't covered by the FCS.
- Bank licence
- Revolut Bank Australia, an authorised deposit-taking institution since 21 July 2026
- Crypto
- Unregulated in Australia; outside its AFSL and the Financial Claims Scheme
- App crypto fee
- Standard: 1.49% per trade (minimum A$1.99), 1.99% once your combined currency, commodity and crypto exchanges pass A$2,000 in a rolling month; Metal: 0.99%, lower on higher volumes
- Withdrawals
- No sending crypto to outside wallets; transfers only to other Revolut users
- Staking
- Not in its Australian crypto terms
- AUD deposits
- Eligible deposits FCS-protected up to A$250,000
Watch out: You can't move crypto out of Revolut in Australia: you can hold it, sell it or send it to another Revolut user. On the Standard plan the fee rises to 1.99% once your combined currency, commodity and crypto exchanges pass A$2,000 in a rolling month.
Which Australian banks are crypto friendly?
None of the big banks sells crypto, and they treat payments to exchanges very differently. Six banks publish a cap of A$10,000 a month, ME Bank and Virgin Money allow A$5,000, and nine restrict payments to exchanges without publishing a limit. HSBC declines every payment to an exchange. We found no published policy on payments to crypto exchanges for ANZ's classic accounts, Suncorp Bank, St.George and its sister brands, Up or Great Southern Bank.
| Bank or app | Payments to crypto exchanges | Cards | Sells crypto? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Commonwealth Bank | Up to A$10,000 a calendar month across all your accounts; some payments held for up to 24 hours; no new scheduled payments (ones set up before 30 September 2026 continue); no exemptions | Not stated | No |
| Bankwest | A$10,000 a month on all crypto-related payments across your Bankwest accounts, including joint accounts; some payments declined or held for 24 hours | Credit cards can't be used to buy crypto | No |
| ANZ Plus | Blocked by Crypto Protect until you switch it off in the app, then A$10,000 a calendar month | Included in the A$10,000 | No |
| ANZ classic accounts, Suncorp Bank | No crypto policy page found | Not stated | No |
| NAB | Since 18 July 2023, declines some payments to exchanges it rates high-risk; no dollar limit published | NAB Visa cards declined at those exchanges | No |
| ubank (NAB) | Restricts payments to some exchanges; PayID payments to them fail | Not stated | No |
| Westpac | Blocks payments to some exchanges with high scam potential (trial began in May 2023); no dollar limit published | Not stated | No |
| St.George, Bank of Melbourne, BankSA | No crypto page or published limit; Westpac hasn't said whether its blocks cover these brands | St.George credit cards treat crypto as a cash advance | No |
| Macquarie | May block payments to high-risk BSBs, mainly ones holding exchange accounts; no limit published | Not stated | No |
| ING | Has declined transactions to some exchanges since April 2024; no limit published | Not stated | No |
| HSBC Australia | All payments to exchanges declined since July 2024 | Visa and Mastercard cards included | No |
| Bendigo Bank | Blocks high-risk instant payments to exchanges (since July 2023); no limit published | Not stated | No |
| Up | No crypto policy published; Up's deposits are held by Bendigo and Adelaide Bank | Not stated | No |
| BOQ | May stop payments to accounts it believes belong to exchanges; funds returned with an SMS; no limit published | Not stated | No |
| ME Bank, Virgin Money (BOQ Group) | A$5,000 per account holder per calendar month across all accounts; a fixed limit | Visa Debit included | No |
| Bank Australia | A$10,000 a calendar month since 27 May 2024 | Not stated | No |
| BCU Bank | A$10,000 a calendar month to some exchanges, across all accounts, since 1 October 2025 | Not stated | No |
| Qudos Bank | Up to A$10,000 a calendar month since 1 July 2026 | Not stated | No |
| Teachers Mutual Bank | Payments to some crypto platforms may be restricted; no limit published | Not stated | No |
| Great Southern Bank | No crypto rule in its terms (effective 10 September 2026) | Not stated | No |
| Auswide Bank | May decline transfers and PayID payments to exchanges on its blocked list, and payments to other exchanges it rates high-risk; no limit published | Visa credit and debit card payments to those exchanges may be declined | No |
| Wise | Account transfers to exchanges blocked; Wise says its card can be used on crypto platforms | Card allowed | No |
| Revolut | Sells crypto in its own app (see below) | Not applicable | Yes |
Getting money back out is usually easier. ANZ Plus, Bankwest, Macquarie, BOQ, Bank Australia and Auswide Bank say you can still receive money from exchanges. CommBank is the exception: it now says it may restrict or decline some incoming payments from exchanges, so test a small withdrawal first.
What changed at CommBank in 2026?
CommBank no longer lets you set up new scheduled payments to crypto exchanges. Scheduled payments created before 30 September 2026 keep running and can be edited, but if you cancel one you can't set it up again. One-off payments still work within the A$10,000 monthly limit, and CommBank may hold some of them for up to 24 hours whatever the amount. It also now says it may restrict or decline some incoming payments from exchanges.
There is no way to apply for a higher limit or an exemption, and the limit applies in branch and over the phone as well as online. On a joint account, each holder has their own A$10,000. CommBank cites investment-scam findings in the latest Targeting Scams report as the reason for these changes. Bankwest, which CommBank owns, has its own A$10,000 monthly limit, and its page doesn't mention the scheduled-payment change.
Can you buy crypto in your Australian banking app?
Only at Revolut. It is now a licensed Australian bank and sells crypto in its app, but you can only buy, sell and hold it or send it to other Revolut users. None of the big four, Macquarie, ING, Up or the customer-owned banks we checked sells crypto. CommBank announced a crypto trading pilot for its app in November 2021 and paused it in May 2022.
Revolut's in-app fee is high for regular buyers. On the Standard plan, A$1,000 of crypto costs A$14.90 in fees (1.49%), against A$8.00 in taker fees for the same Bitcoin buy on Kraken Pro in our Australian exchanges test. Outside the banks, the investing app Superhero launched crypto trading through Bitstamp by Robinhood in August 2026, at 0.10% per trade, according to trade press.
Is Revolut crypto friendly in Australia?
Yes for buying, no for moving it out. APRA granted Revolut Payments Australia a banking licence on 21 July 2026, and Revolut says eligible AUD deposits are now protected by the Financial Claims Scheme up to A$250,000. Its crypto is a different product: Revolut says it is unregulated in Australia, isn't provided under its AFSL and isn't covered by the FCS.
Australian customers can't withdraw crypto to an outside wallet or send it to anyone outside the app, and Revolut's Australian crypto terms say your interest in the crypto doesn't entitle you to its keys. Revolut's global pages describe outside transfers and staking, but its Australian terms bar outside transfers and don't mention staking.
On the Standard plan, crypto costs 1.49% per trade with a minimum fee of A$1.99, rising to 1.99% once your combined currency, commodity and crypto exchanges pass A$2,000 in a rolling month. Metal customers pay 0.99%, with lower rates on large volumes. Our full Revolut review covers the rest of the app.
Why do Australian banks block crypto payments?
Scams. Australians reported A$2.18 billion in scam losses in 2025, up 7.8% on 2024, and investment scams were the costliest type at A$837.7 million, according to the National Anti-Scam Centre's Targeting Scams report. Crypto and digital currency exchanges were the costliest payment method reported to Scamwatch: A$121.3 million, or 36.2% of Scamwatch-reported losses. That category includes bank transfers into exchanges.
Banks have answered with caps and blocks. NAB, Westpac and Bendigo Bank began blocking high-risk exchanges in 2023, ING and HSBC followed in 2024, and several customer-owned banks now cap crypto payments at A$10,000 a month. BCU Bank ties its cap to the Scam-Safe Accord, the banking industry's commitment to stronger scam protections.
New law adds pressure. The Scams Prevention Framework Act 2025 is in force, and banks, telcos and digital platforms are designated sectors, but most of their obligations start on 31 March 2027. Crypto exchanges are not a designated sector.
What can you do if your bank blocks a crypto payment?
First make sure the payment isn't a scam: a block is sometimes the bank stopping one. Then work within your bank's rules, or use an account at a bank with a published limit that suits you.
- Check the exchange's Australian company on AUSTRAC's register of virtual asset service providers, and make sure it isn't on ASIC's Moneysmart investor alert list.
- Don't keep retrying. NAB and HSBC say repeat attempts at a blocked payment will be blocked again, and Auswide Bank says they may be.
- Stay inside your monthly limit. CommBank says there is no way to apply for a higher limit or an exemption.
- Don't rely on credit cards. Bankwest credit cards can't be used to buy crypto, and St.George treats crypto bought on its credit cards as a cash advance.
- If you bank with CommBank, test a small withdrawal from the exchange first, because CommBank may decline some incoming payments.
- If someone is coaching you to send money to crypto, stop, call your bank and report it to Scamwatch.
Can the ATO see your crypto?
Yes, through Australian exchanges. The ATO's data-matching program for the 2023-24 to 2025-26 financial years collects exchange records on roughly 700,000 to 1.2 million people and businesses a year, including identity details, linked bank accounts and transactions. Selling, swapping or spending crypto is a capital gains tax event, wherever you bought it. Our Australian exchanges guide covers the 50% discount and the changes from 1 July 2027.
Australian bank and crypto rules at a glance
- Who sets the limits
- Each bank sets its own; there is no single Australian cap on crypto payments.
- Published caps
- A$10,000 a month (CommBank, Bankwest, ANZ Plus, Bank Australia, BCU, Qudos) or A$5,000 a calendar month (ME Bank, Virgin Money).
- Full block
- HSBC Australia declines all payments to crypto exchanges.
- No published cap
- NAB, Westpac, Macquarie, ING and Bendigo block payments to some exchanges without naming them.
- Bank that sells crypto
- Revolut Bank Australia; crypto sits outside its AFSL and the FCS, with no outside withdrawals.
- Deposit protection
- Eligible AUD bank deposits are covered up to A$250,000; crypto isn't.
- Scam rules
- Most Scams Prevention Framework obligations for banks start on 31 March 2027; exchanges aren't a designated sector.
- Tax
- Selling, swapping or spending crypto is a CGT event, and the ATO data-matches exchange records.
Preguntas frecuentes
Legal & tax disclaimer · Australia
This page is general information, not personal financial advice, and Skrumble does not hold an Australian financial services licence. Bank limits change at short notice, so check your bank's own page before a large transfer. Crypto is not a bank deposit covered by the Financial Claims Scheme. Read our full disclaimer.
References
39 dated sources behind the figures and dates on this pageShow allHide
- [1]CommBank: changes to cryptocurrency and other payments · Commonwealth Bank · accessed
- [2]Bankwest: common types of scams (crypto payment limits) · Bankwest · accessed
- [3]ANZ Plus: restrictions on payments to crypto exchanges · ANZ · accessed
- [4]NAB: cryptocurrency transaction changes · NAB · accessed
- [5]ubank: why are some crypto transactions blocked · ubank · accessed
- [6]Westpac: new scam blocks (media release) · Westpac · published · accessed
- [7]Westpac trials new cryptocurrency blocks (media release) · Westpac · published · accessed
- [8]Westpac: scam protections update (media release) · Westpac · published · accessed
- [9]St.George: credit card terms and conditions · St.George Bank · published · accessed
- [10]Macquarie: understanding cryptocurrency payments · Macquarie · accessed
- [11]ING: why can't I make payments to certain cryptocurrency exchanges · ING Australia · accessed
- [12]HSBC Australia: cryptocurrency payment changes · HSBC Australia · accessed
- [13]Bendigo Bank blocks high-risk crypto payments (media release) · Bendigo Bank · published · accessed
- [14]Up: product terms · Up · accessed
- [15]BOQ: managing cryptocurrency payments · Bank of Queensland · accessed
- [16]ME Bank: deposit account interest rates and transaction limits · ME Bank · accessed
- [17]Virgin Money: rates and fees · Virgin Money Australia · accessed
- [18]Bank Australia: changes to cryptocurrency payments · Bank Australia · published · accessed
- [19]BCU Bank: cryptocurrency payments · BCU Bank · accessed
- [20]Qudos Bank: changes to terms and conditions · Qudos Bank · accessed
- [21]Teachers Mutual Bank: security · Teachers Mutual Bank · accessed
- [22]Great Southern Bank: terms and conditions · Great Southern Bank · published · accessed
- [23]Auswide Bank: cryptocurrency payments · Auswide Bank · accessed
- [24]Wise: understanding Wise's position on cryptocurrency · Wise · accessed
- [25]Australia's largest bank halts crypto trading pilot · Decrypt · accessed
- [26]APRA grants ADI licence to Revolut · APRA · published · accessed
- [27]Revolut Australia: cryptocurrency terms · Revolut · accessed
- [28]Revolut Australia: Standard plan fees · Revolut · accessed
- [29]Revolut Australia: Metal plan fees · Revolut · accessed
- [30]Superhero partners for crypto push · Financial Standard · published · accessed
- [31]NASC: Targeting Scams report 2025 · National Anti-Scam Centre · published · accessed
- [32]NASC: annual scam losses exceed $2 billion · National Anti-Scam Centre · accessed
- [33]Scams Prevention Framework Act 2025 · Federal Register of Legislation · published · accessed
- [34]Scams Prevention Framework: regulated sectors designation 2026 · Federal Register of Legislation · published · accessed
- [35]ASIC: Scams Prevention Framework · ASIC · accessed
- [36]AUSTRAC: register of virtual asset service providers · AUSTRAC · accessed
- [37]Moneysmart investor alert list · ASIC Moneysmart · accessed
- [38]ATO: crypto assets data-matching program protocol · ATO · accessed
- [39]ATO: how to work out and report CGT on crypto · ATO · accessed