Best crypto wallets in the United States
We ranked seven self-custody wallets on what still works for Americans, from US prices and state partner limits to blocked features and IRS reporting.
The short answer
- The best crypto wallet in the USA for most people is a Trezor. The Safe 3 costs $59 at trezor.io and ships from US fulfillment centers with no customs duties. Its shipping partner exposed about 67,000 US customers' contact details.
- Ledger is the runner-up, from $69, and pairs with all five app wallets we rank, though not every model works with each. As of October 17, 2026, it had confirmed hidden implants in some devices sold through a reseller in Southeast Asia.
- Four of the five app wallets block tokenized stocks for US users, and Phantom, Trust Wallet and MetaMask block perpetual futures. Rabby gates perps by region without saying which regions.
- No rule in force requires a self-custody wallet app to file Form 1099-DA on your wallet activity. A swap inside a wallet is still taxable. Every Form 1040 filer must also answer the digital asset question.
- New York residents lose the most. Exodus swaps, Phantom Cash's bank transfers and card, and several buy partners, including Robinhood Connect and Transak, are unavailable there.
The best crypto wallet in the USA for most people is a Trezor hardware wallet for savings, paired with a low-fee app wallet for daily use. A Trezor Safe 3 costs $59 at trezor.io and ships from US fulfillment centers. For the basics that apply anywhere, read our best crypto wallet guide. This page covers what changes once you live in the United States.
A lot changes. US rules switch off the trading extras these wallets sell abroad, such as perpetual futures and tokenized stocks, and your in-app buy and sell partners each skip different states, with New York losing the most. No rule in force requires a self-custody wallet app to file Form 1099-DA on your wallet activity. The IRS still expects you to report every swap.
We ranked the seven wallets Skrumble has reviewed in full: Trezor, Ledger, Rabby, Exodus, Phantom, Trust Wallet and MetaMask. We checked prices, buying channels, partner state lists, blocked features and incidents against company pages, US government sources and press reports on October 16 and 17, 2026. We did not test the devices ourselves.
On this page
The 7 best crypto wallets in the USA, ranked
7 rankedSome links below are affiliate links. They never decide what is listed or where it ranks. How we make money.
How we picked
- It has a full, published Skrumble review scored with our wallet methodology: security 40%, chain and asset support 20%, ease of use 20%, pricing 10%, trust and transparency 10%.
- It is self-custody. You hold the keys, and the wallet company never holds your coins.
- We found no state that blocks the app or device outright (checked October 17, 2026). Feature gaps by state are listed for each wallet.
- We start from each wallet's review score, then rank for US use: custody security and a clean US buying channel first, then what US rules switch off, US buy and sell partners, and incident record. That puts both hardware wallets above Rabby, which scores highest but offers Americans no documented dollar on-ramp, and Phantom above Trust Wallet.
1. Trezor (Best overall)
Best overall4.3/5Global review scoreOpen-source hardware wallet from $59, shipped from US fulfillment centers
Trezor is our pick for most Americans holding crypto for the long term. The Safe 3 costs $59 at trezor.io, US orders ship from US fulfillment centers with no customs duties, and the firmware is open source, mainly under GPL-3.0. It ranks first on open-source firmware and a direct US channel, even though its review score trails Ledger's and Rabby's.
- US price
- Safe 3 $59, Safe 5 $129, Safe 7 $249 at trezor.io (checked October 17, 2026)
- Where to buy
- Direct from trezor.io, with free standard shipping listed on the Safe 3 and Safe 5; Trezor's help center also links an official Amazon US storefront
- Buy and sell
- MoonPay, Banxa, Paybis, Topper and others in Trezor Suite (checked October 17, 2026)
Watch out: Trezor's shipping partner ShipMonk exposed the names, emails, phone numbers and shipping addresses of about 67,000 US customers, from orders placed between November 2019 and August 2021. That was part of 80,689 in total, Trezor said on September 4, 2026. Trezor's systems, devices and keys were not affected. Expect phishing by mail, email and phone.

2. Ledger (Runner-up)
Runner-up4.4/5Global review scorePairs with all five app wallets we rank (not every model with each), from $69
Ledger has the highest security sub-score of any wallet here and signs with all five app wallets on this list, against three for Trezor. US buyers can pay with PayPal, or with Cash App Pay through MoonPay, inside the Ledger Wallet app, and Ledger lists Best Buy, Amazon and TikTok Shop US as authorized resellers.
- US price
- Nano S Plus $69, Nano X $99, Nano Gen5 $179, Flex $249, Stax $399 at ledger.com (checked October 17, 2026)
- Sell
- Transak is the only confirmed US route, paid to a card; not AK, LA, MN, NY or ND (per Transak; checked October 17, 2026)
- Ledger Recover
- Optional and tied to your ID; $9.99 a month after a free first month, renewals billed in euros (checked October 17, 2026)
Watch out: As of October 17, 2026, Ledger had confirmed hidden implants in some devices sold through CryptoBilis, a reseller in Southeast Asia. Third-party trackers estimate losses of roughly $72 million to $102 million; Ledger has not confirmed any figure. In 2020 a dump of about 272,000 customers' names, addresses and phone numbers appeared online.

3. Rabby (Best for DeFi)
Best for DeFi4.4/5Global review scoreThe lowest published swap fee, with balance previews before you sign
Rabby has the highest review score of the seven and charges 0.25% on swaps and bridges, against 0.875% at MetaMask and 0.85% at Phantom. Same-chain stablecoin swaps are free. It shows how your balances will change before you sign, its extension has been audited every year since 2022, and its extension signs with 11 types of hardware wallet.
- Networks
- 70+ built-in EVM networks; no Bitcoin, Solana or Tron
- Dollars in and out
- We found no documented way to buy or sell crypto with dollars inside Rabby
- US terms
- Texas law; Rabby says it is not registered with any financial regulator
Watch out: Rabby is EVM only, and we found no documented way to buy crypto with dollars inside it, so plan on an exchange or another wallet. Its perps and prediction features are region-gated (Rabby does not publish which regions). The latest mobile audit left four Medium issues unresolved.

4. Exodus (Best for beginners)
Best for beginners4.2/5Global review scorePolished desktop and mobile app from a US-listed company
Exodus is our pick for beginners outside New York and Washington. It scored 4.6 out of 5 for ease of use, and Exodus Movement, Inc. is listed on NYSE American and files audited reports with the SEC. US buyers get five buy partners. MoonPay pays sales out to a US bank by ACH.
- US buy partners
- XO Ramp (not NY, VT), MoonPay, PayPal (not HI), Robinhood Connect (not HI, NY, NC), Blockchain.com Pay (not 9 states); checked October 17, 2026
- Not available
- Swaps in New York and Washington; tokenized stocks and predictions anywhere in the US (checked October 17, 2026)
Watch out: In New York and Washington, Exodus swaps are switched off. That removes the app's main feature. Exodus has also dropped dApp connections on mobile. In December 2025 it settled with OFAC for $3,103,360 over 254 apparent violations of Iran sanctions (2017 to 2019), including staff advice to Iranian users to use VPNs.

5. Phantom (Best for Solana)
Best for Solana4.0/5Global review scoreSolana-first wallet with a US bank cash-out outside New York
Phantom is the best Solana wallet for Americans, and its US extras work. Phantom Cash withdraws to a US bank by ACH, free at standard speed, and its virtual Visa card works in every state except New York. Those features, plus Trust Wallet's 2025 extension breach, Hong Kong arbitration terms and paused predictions, put Phantom above Trust Wallet despite a slightly lower review score.
- Cash out
- Standard ACH to a US bank free; fast $1.00 plus 0.75% (minimum $1.50); not in New York; may ask for an SSN and does not accept an ITIN (checked October 17, 2026)
- Networks
- Nine, including Solana, Ethereum, Base and Bitcoin
- Hardware
- Ledger only; no Trezor and no Nano Gen5
Watch out: Perps and tokenized stocks are not available to US users, and Phantom does not say its prediction markets are available in the US. Phantom says its March 2026 CFTC no-action relief does not cover DeFi derivatives or tokenized prediction markets. The app is closed source.

6. Trust Wallet (Best for altcoins)
Best for altcoins4.1/5Global review score100+ blockchains in one free app, with Cash App Pay through MoonPay
Trust Wallet supports 100+ blockchains by its own count, in one free app. US buyers can pay through MoonPay, with Cash App Pay since August 19, 2026 and an in-app MoonPay checkout since October 7, 2026. They can sell through MoonPay or Ramp.
- Buy partners
- MoonPay, Simplex (not NY, LA, AK, WA, VT), Ramp, Banxa, Mercuryo, Transak (checked October 17, 2026)
- Not available to US users
- Perps, Stablecoin Earn and tokenized stocks (checked October 17, 2026)
- Disputes
- Hong Kong arbitration; a New York federal court compelled it in September 2026
Watch out: In December 2025 a malicious update to Trust Wallet's browser extension drained 2,520 addresses. Trust Wallet says buying new prediction positions is currently disabled. Its own pages disagree on whether it adds a swap fee. No rate is published.

7. MetaMask (Most US buy options)
Most US buy options3.9/5Global review score16 named US buy providers and a state picker when you sell
MetaMask names more US buy providers than any wallet here, 16 in all, including PayPal, Robinhood and MoonPay, and its sell flow asks US users to select their state. It works with Ledger and Trezor and turns security alerts on by default. It ranks last on the lowest review score of the seven and the highest published swap fee.
- Fees
- 0.875% on swaps and bridges; 1% on buys and sells (checked October 17, 2026)
- Sell
- Transak, MoonPay, Sardine or Banxa, to a bank account or card depending on the provider (checked October 17, 2026)
Watch out: Perps, predictions and tokenized stocks are not available to US users. On September 30, 2026 MetaMask disclosed a security incident affecting part of its infrastructure. It says there is no indication that wallets or customer funds were affected. It has not published a root cause.
Crypto wallets compared for US users
| Wallet | Best for | US price or swap fee | Buy and sell with dollars | New York | Blocked or limited in the US | Global score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Overall | $59 to $249 | MoonPay and others | MoonPay licensed | None found | 4.3/5 | |
| Pairing with apps | $69 to $399 | PayPal, Cash App Pay; sell to a card | MoonPay, PayPal licensed | None found | 4.4/5 | |
| DeFi on EVM chains | 0.25% swap fee | None documented | No state limits found | Perps, predictions region-gated | 4.4/5 | |
| Beginners | Spread in the quote | 5 partners; MoonPay to a bank | No swaps in NY or WA | Tokenized stocks, predictions | 4.2/5 | |
| Solana | 0.85% swap fee | Cash to a bank by ACH | No Cash or card in NY | Perps, tokenized stocks | 4.0/5 | |
| Many chains | No published swap rate | MoonPay, Ramp and others | MoonPay works; four partners exclude NY | Perps, Earn, tokenized stocks | 4.1/5 | |
| US buy options | 0.875% swap; 1% buy and sell | 16 US buy providers | PayPal, MoonPay licensed | Perps, predictions, tokenized stocks | 3.9/5 |
Prices, partners and restrictions checked October 17, 2026. Providers change their state lists, so confirm in the app before you pay.
Can the IRS see your crypto wallet?
Partly. Every address on a public blockchain is visible to anyone, and US exchanges now report your sales to the IRS on Form 1099-DA. Your wallet is different. No rule in force requires a self-custody wallet app to file Form 1099-DA on your wallet activity. Phantom and MetaMask say they issue no tax forms; for the others we found no sign they do. You must report every taxable transaction yourself.
Form 1099-DA comes from custodial US brokers such as exchanges, certain hosted wallet providers and crypto kiosks. They report gross proceeds for sales from January 1, 2025. From January 1, 2026, they also report cost basis for coins bought after 2025 and held at that broker until the sale. The first forms were due by February 17, 2026.
Treasury's 2024 rules say a business that only sells hardware or licenses software letting people control their own private keys, without other functions or services, is not a broker. The IRS hasn't said how that applies to wallets with built-in swaps. Congress voided the separate DeFi broker rule, which would have reached swap front-ends, through Public Law 119-5 on April 10, 2025. The Federal Register now treats it as never in force.
Every Form 1040 filer must answer the digital asset question Yes or No, even if they never owned crypto. The IRS asks: 'At any time during the tax year, did you: (a) receive (as a reward, award or payment for property or services); or (b) sell, exchange, or otherwise dispose of a digital asset (or a financial interest in a digital asset)?'
Holding crypto, buying it with dollars, or moving it between wallets you own generally lets you answer No. Paying the network fee in crypto counts as a digital asset transaction, according to the IRS. The move itself isn't taxable, except for the crypto used to pay the fee. Swaps are. A swap inside a wallet app is a taxable disposition, and staking rewards are income at fair market value when you gain dominion and control over them (Rev. Rul. 2023-14).
| Wallet action | Taxable? | 1040 question | Who reports it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Buy crypto with dollars | No | Generally No | You (keep the receipt for basis) |
| Move coins between your own wallets | No, except crypto spent on the fee | No, unless the fee was paid in crypto | You |
| Swap one coin for another | Yes | Yes | You |
| Sell through an in-wallet partner | Yes | Yes | You; a partner that is a US broker may also file a 1099-DA |
| Receive staking rewards | Yes, as income | Yes | You; staking isn't on Form 1099-DA |
| Sell on a US exchange | Yes | Yes | You; the exchange also files Form 1099-DA |
Keep your own records. Since January 1, 2025, cost basis is tracked wallet by wallet (Rev. Proc. 2024-28), so export the history from every wallet at least once a year. IRS Notice 2026-20 relief covers coins held at a broker only. Our US crypto tax guide walks through Form 8949 and Schedule D.
None of the pending bills is law. House Ways and Means approved H.R. 10357 by 38 to 5 on September 16, 2026. It would exempt fee payments of $10 or less and apply wash-sale rules to crypto. Separately, the CLARITY Act failed a Senate cloture vote, 49 to 50.
Which wallet features are blocked for US users?
Most of the trading extras these wallets advertise abroad are off for Americans. Phantom, Trust Wallet and MetaMask don't offer perps to US users, and four of the five app wallets block tokenized stocks. Prediction markets are blocked, paused or unconfirmed wherever they exist. The basics still work.
| Wallet | Perps | Prediction markets | Tokenized stocks | Yield and cards |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phantom | Not available to US users | Phantom does not say they are available in the US | Not available | Visa card except New York |
| Trust Wallet | Not available to US users | Trust Wallet says buying new prediction positions is currently disabled | Not available | Stablecoin Earn not available |
| Exodus | Not offered | Not available | Not available | Virtual card except Vermont |
| MetaMask | Not available to US users | Not available | Not available | New US card sign-ups paused since June 3, 2026; existing cards work |
| Rabby | Region-gated (Rabby does not publish which regions) | Region-gated | None found | None found |
| Ledger | None found | None found | None found | Ledger's pages disagree on US card availability |
| Trezor | None found | None found | None found | None found |
Phantom's CFTC no-action letter of March 17, 2026 doesn't change this. Phantom says the relief does not cover DeFi derivatives or tokenized prediction markets and applies to a custodial model with a registered exchange partner. Rabby's gate points the same way, because Hyperliquid's own interface terms exclude anyone in the United States.
Staking isn't blocked. We found no US-specific staking limit in any of the seven wallets' documentation, though Exodus says availability varies by location and wallet address. The fees differ a lot. MetaMask Pooled Staking takes 15% of rewards, Phantom's PSOL takes 4% plus a 0.1% exit fee, and Lido takes 10% of ETH rewards through Ledger.
Can you buy and sell crypto inside a wallet in New York and other states?
Yes, but not through every partner. A self-custody wallet doesn't sell you crypto. A payment partner does, and each partner keeps its own state list. MoonPay appears in six of our seven wallets and holds a New York BitLicense, while Robinhood Connect, Transak, Ramp, Banxa and Paybis all exclude New York.
| Partner | Used in | Not available in | New York |
|---|---|---|---|
| MoonPay | All but Rabby | Selling may be unavailable in some states, including Texas and New York, per MoonPay's developer FAQ | BitLicense holder |
| Robinhood Connect | Phantom, Exodus, MetaMask | NY; HI, NC and PR residents need a brokerage account (Exodus: not HI, NY, NC) | No |
| PayPal | Phantom, Exodus, MetaMask, Ledger | May not be available in Hawaii (Exodus says it is not; PayPal's current terms do not say) | Licensed |
| Transak | Phantom, Trust Wallet, MetaMask, Ledger | AK, LA, MN, NY, ND; US payouts to cards only (per Transak) | No |
| Ramp | Trust Wallet, MetaMask | LA, MN, NV, NJ, NY, PA, VT, WA | No |
| Banxa | Phantom, Trust Wallet, MetaMask, Trezor | NY, LA, DC | No |
| Simplex | Trust Wallet | NY, LA, AK, WA, VT | No |
| Topper | Phantom, MetaMask, Ledger, Trezor | No buying in NY | Sell-only |
| Paybis | Phantom, Trezor | LA, NY | No |
| Stripe onramp | Phantom, MetaMask | HI (terms dated November 8, 2022) | Not stated |
| XO Ramp | Exodus | NY, VT | No |
| Blockchain.com Pay | Exodus | HI, LA, NV, NJ, NY, PA, TN, TX, VA (per Exodus) | No |
| Sardine, Revolut, Mercuryo | MetaMask and others | State coverage not published | Not stated |
Some limits come from the wallet itself. Exodus switches off swaps in New York and Washington, and Phantom Cash's bank transfers and withdrawals and Phantom's card exclude New York. Phantom Cash may also ask for a Social Security number and does not accept an ITIN. MetaMask asks US users to pick their state in its sell flow.
In New York, check the NYDFS list of regulated virtual currency businesses first. MoonPay, PayPal, Robinhood Crypto and Coinbase are on it; Transak, Ramp, Banxa, Uphold (Topper's parent) and Paybis are not. Under California's Digital Financial Assets Law, firms serving its residents needed a license, a pending application or an exemption by July 1, 2026.
Which hardware wallet should Americans buy, and what does it cost?
Buy a Trezor Safe 3 at $59 for the cheapest open-source option, or a Ledger for the widest app support. Either way, buy it direct from the maker. Both list US prices in dollars. Trezor charges US buyers no customs duties.
| Model | US price | Secure chip | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Trezor Safe 3 | $59 | OPTIGA Trust M (EAL6+) | Free standard US shipping listed |
| Trezor Safe 5 | $129 | OPTIGA Trust M (EAL6+) | Free standard US shipping listed |
| Trezor Safe 7 | $249 | OPTIGA Trust M plus TROPIC01 | TROPIC01 lab flaw disclosed June 2026 |
| Ledger Nano S Plus | $69 | ST33K1M5 (EAL6+) | Was $59 as late as September 26, 2026 |
| Ledger Nano X | $99 | ST33J2M0 (EAL5+) | Only current Ledger on EAL5+ |
| Ledger Nano Gen5 | $179 | ST33K1M5 (EAL6+) | Not supported by Phantom |
| Ledger Flex | $249 | ST33K1M5 (EAL6+) | Free shipping; Recovery Key included |
| Ledger Stax | $399 | ST33K1M5 (EAL6+) | Free shipping; Recovery Key included |
Trezor sells direct from trezor.io; US orders ship from US fulfillment centers with no customs duties, and Trezor lists free standard shipping on the Safe 3 and Safe 5. Its help center also links an official Trezor storefront on Amazon US. We recommend buying direct. Sales tax, where it applies, is added at checkout.
Ledger sells direct (US orders are contracted with Global-e US Inc.) and lists Best Buy, Amazon (seller 'Ledger Official') and TikTok Shop US as authorized resellers. On Amazon, check the seller name. Ledger warns that third-party sellers can list on the same page. Shipping is free on the Flex and Stax.
The October 2026 Ledger implant case
In October 2026 Ledger confirmed that some devices sold through CryptoBilis, a reseller in Southeast Asia, had been opened and fitted with a hidden implant. The implant read the 24-word recovery phrase off the screen during setup and sent it out over a cellular connection. Ledger says its chip, operating system and servers were not compromised, and that its direct sales were not affected.
Third-party blockchain trackers estimate losses of roughly $72 million to $102 million; Ledger has not confirmed any figure. Ledger asked resellers in seven Asian markets (Indonesia, Singapore, Thailand, the Philippines, Vietnam, Malaysia and Hong Kong) to stop selling. MediaMarktSaturn pulled Ledger products after one customer report in Germany. As of October 17, 2026, Ledger had not announced compensation.
Ledger's statements name no US seller or customer, and Ledger has confirmed cases only in devices sold through CryptoBilis; reports from other sellers are under review. Ledger's reseller list still shows CryptoBilis, marked 'Sales temporarily paused'. Ledger's own documentation says its Genuine Check cannot detect physical implants if the original secure chip is intact.
So a reseller list is no guarantee. Ledger now bans open-shelf display and the resale of returned devices, but marketplace listings and discounted units remain the riskiest way to buy any hardware wallet. Trezor is also shrinking its reseller list from January 1, 2027.
Ledger Recover is an optional, paid backup tied to your ID, and it costs $9.99 a month after a free first month, with renewals billed in euros. The dollar amount can vary. Coincover runs it: your phrase is encrypted and split into three fragments, held by Coincover, Ledger and EscrowTech. You must pass an identity check, and US users can verify with a passport, national ID or driver's license.
Which is the safest crypto wallet?
A hardware wallet bought direct from its maker is the safest place for savings, because your keys stay off your phone and computer. Among app wallets, Rabby scored highest for security in our reviews. We found no confirmed breach of Phantom's own systems. The rest appear below.
| Wallet | What happened | Scale | Outcome |
|---|---|---|---|
| Trezor | Shipping partner ShipMonk exposed customer data (August 13 and September 4, 2026) | 80,689 customers, about 67,000 of them US orders from 2019 to 2021 | Trezor's systems, devices and keys not affected |
| Trezor | Phishing email from Trezor's real address via its email provider Brevo (September 9, 2026) | 347,149 contacts exported; about 2,500 clicks | No losses publicly confirmed |
| Ledger | Hidden implants in some devices sold through reseller CryptoBilis (October 2026) | Third-party estimates of roughly $72 million to $102 million; Ledger has confirmed no figure | No compensation announced as of October 17, 2026 |
| Ledger | Order data accessed at Global-e, its merchant of record (January 2026) | Names and contact details of some ledger.com buyers | No payment data taken |
| Ledger | E-commerce data leak (2020) | About 272,000 customers' names, addresses and phone numbers dumped online | No funds taken; Ledger declined refunds |
| Ledger | Connect Kit library attack (December 14, 2023) | About $600,000, by Ledger's count | Pledged to make all victims whole by the end of February 2024 |
| Trust Wallet | Malicious browser extension update (December 2025) | 2,520 addresses drained | Claims paid from January 2026; no final total |
| MetaMask | Infrastructure security incident (September 30, 2026) | Staking validators exited as a precaution | No root cause published |
| Exodus | OFAC Iran sanctions settlement (December 2025) | 254 apparent violations, 2017 to 2019 | $3,103,360 |
| Rabby | Swap contract exploit (October 11, 2022) | About $190,000 to $200,000 | Users told to revoke approvals |
Ledger also faces lawsuits in the US. In Baton v. Ledger SAS, a federal judge in California let privacy claims proceed in part in February 2025. A proposed class action filed August 27, 2026 in federal court in Manhattan seeks at least $500 million, citing the 2020 and 2023 incidents. The claims are unproven, and Ledger does not comment on legal matters.
The SEC's investor education office warns that self-custody means you have 'sole responsibility for the security of your crypto assets' private keys,' and that a lost or stolen wallet can mean losing access for good. Nobody can reset a recovery phrase for you. Build these habits from day one.
- Buy hardware direct from trezor.io or ledger.com, never discounted from a marketplace, social-media shop or second-hand seller.
- Run the setup checks. A new Trezor ships without firmware, and Trezor Suite runs authenticity and entropy checks; Ledger says its Genuine Check can't detect a physical implant if the original secure chip is intact.
- Write your recovery phrase on paper or metal, and never type it into a website or a support chat.
- Read the balance-change preview before you sign, and revoke token approvals you no longer use.
- If your details were in the Trezor or Ledger leaks, treat any wallet letter, email or call as a scam until verified.
Best crypto wallet in the USA for beginners
Exodus is the best crypto wallet in the USA for beginners, unless you live in New York or Washington. It scored 4.6 out of 5 for ease of use in our review, and you can sell to a US bank through MoonPay by ACH. In those two states, though, swaps are off. That removes the feature most beginners want.
Phantom is the simplest start if you mainly want Solana, and it scored 4.7 for ease of use, the highest of the seven. Whichever app you pick, write the recovery phrase down before you fund it and send a small test amount first. Once the balance grows past what you'd be happy to lose, move it to a hardware wallet.
Do you need a hot wallet and a cold wallet?
Most Americans holding more than a small amount should have both. Use a hot wallet, meaning an app, for spending and connecting to apps, and a cold wallet, meaning a hardware device, for savings. The pair works best when the app can sign with your hardware wallet, because your keys then stay offline while you use the app.
| App wallet | Ledger | Trezor |
|---|---|---|
| Phantom | Yes, except the Nano Gen5 | No |
| MetaMask | Yes, extension and mobile | Extension only |
| Rabby | Yes (extension) | Yes (extension) |
| Exodus | Nano X and Flex, mobile only | Yes; Safe 7 on mobile only |
| Trust Wallet | Browser extension only | No support found |
That table explains Ledger's high rank despite its incidents. It pairs with all five app wallets, while Trezor pairs with three. If you want Phantom with a hardware wallet, you need a Ledger. Not the Nano Gen5, though. Trezor owners can use Rabby, Exodus or MetaMask's extension.
What changes if you use a self-custody wallet instead of an exchange?
Almost everything about responsibility. An exchange account is custodial. The exchange holds your crypto, sends you a Form 1099-DA when you sell and can restore access if you forget your password. A self-custody wallet gives you the keys instead. The FTC warns that if your wallet is stolen or compromised, no one can step in to help you recover your funds.
A wallet also needs a partner to reach your bank. Exodus sells through MoonPay to a US bank by ACH. Phantom pays out through Phantom Cash outside New York. Ledger's only confirmed US sell route pays to a card, and Rabby has none documented. Many Americans buy on an exchange and then withdraw to a wallet; our best crypto exchanges in the US list covers that side.
How do crypto wallet scams target Americans?
Mostly by tricking you into giving up your recovery phrase or signing a bad transaction. People reported $11.4 billion in crypto-related losses to the FBI's Internet Crime Complaint Center in 2025, including $7.2 billion in crypto investment fraud. People 60 and over reported $4.4 billion of it. Crypto ATMs alone cost victims $389 million.
Recovery scams, where fake firms promise to get stolen crypto back, accounted for $1.4 billion, which may include losses from earlier years. The FTC says people reported losing about $16 billion to all fraud in 2025, and it has published no crypto split for that year.
In June 2025 the FBI warned about wallet-draining NFT airdrops on the Hedera network, but no US government warning from 2024 to 2026 names a wallet brand. The FTC's alert about fake MetaMask emails dates from May 9, 2023. Brand-specific evidence comes from wallets and security firms. It shows one pattern. Scammers copy a trusted name, then ask for your recovery phrase.
- Kaspersky reported 26 phishing apps on Apple's App Store pushing infected wallet copies, Trust Wallet among them (April 20, 2026).
- Socket found at least 20 malicious Firefox add-ons built from Rabby's code in August 2026; Rabby has no Firefox version.
- A fake Ledger app on Apple's App Store took about $9.5 million from 50+ victims in April 2026, per investigator ZachXBT.
Report fraud at ic3.gov and ReportFraud.ftc.gov. The CFTC says to treat any wallet address you didn't create yourself with skepticism, and it calls crypto recovery offers a form of advance-fee fraud. Ignore anyone who contacts you afterward promising to get your coins back.
What do these wallets cost to use?
The apps are free; you pay through swap fees, partner fees and network fees. Rabby charges the lowest published swap fee, 0.25%, and MetaMask the highest, 0.875%, plus 1% on buys and sells, with Phantom at 0.85% on most swaps. Exodus builds its cut into the quoted rate. Trust Wallet's pages disagree on whether it charges one. On a $1,000 swap, Rabby saves you $6.25 against MetaMask.
Network fees count for tax too. When you pay gas in crypto, the IRS treats the coins you spend as a disposition. Each fee is a tiny taxable event. Good tax software picks it up from your wallet exports.
What changed for US wallet users in 2025 and 2026?
Broker reporting arrived at US exchanges in 2025, while Congress voided the rule that would have reached DeFi front-ends. Several of the wallets we rank also had security incidents or switched off features for US users. These are the dates that matter.
- January 1, 2025: Form 1099-DA reporting of gross proceeds begins, and basis is tracked wallet by wallet.
- December 2025: Trust Wallet's extension is compromised; Exodus settles with OFAC.
- March 17, 2026: the CFTC gives Phantom no-action relief that, Phantom says, does not cover DeFi derivatives or tokenized prediction markets.
- September 4, 2026: Trezor adds about 67,000 US orders to the ShipMonk exposure, for 80,689 customers in all.
- September 30, 2026: MetaMask discloses an infrastructure incident.
- October 7, 2026: Trust Wallet adds an in-app MoonPay checkout for US users.
- October 2026: Ledger confirms implants in some devices sold through CryptoBilis, and the Nano S Plus lists at $69, up from $59 as late as September 26.
None of this changed the basic advice. Keep savings on a hardware wallet bought direct, and pick an app wallet that still works in your state. We'll update this page as Ledger's investigation and the pending tax bills develop further.
US rules for wallet users at a glance
- Tax question
- Every Form 1040 filer must answer the digital asset question Yes or No.
- Form 1099-DA
- Custodial brokers report proceeds from 2025 and basis for coins bought from 2026.
- Wallet apps
- No rule in force requires a self-custody wallet app to file Form 1099-DA.
- DeFi broker rule
- Voided by Public Law 119-5 on April 10, 2025.
- Staking
- Income when you gain control of the rewards (Rev. Rul. 2023-14); not on Form 1099-DA.
- New York
- Exodus swaps, Phantom Cash bank transfers and several buy partners unavailable; MoonPay and PayPal licensed by NYDFS.
- Buying hardware
- Buy direct from the maker; Trezor charges US buyers no customs duties.
Preguntas frecuentes
Legal & tax disclaimer · United States
This page is general information, not tax, legal or investment advice; Skrumble is not a registered investment adviser or tax preparer. Self-custody means no one can restore a lost recovery phrase. Partner and state availability changes often, so check in the app before you buy or sell. Read our full disclaimer.
References
153 dated sources behind the figures and dates on this pageShow allHide
- [1]IRS: digital assets · Internal Revenue Service · published · accessed
- [2]IRS: 2025 Form 1040 instructions (digital asset question) · Internal Revenue Service · accessed
- [3]IRS: reminders for taxpayers about digital assets (Tax Tip 2026-07) · Internal Revenue Service · published · accessed
- [4]IRS: instructions for Form 1099-DA (2026) · Internal Revenue Service · published · accessed
- [5]IRS: frequently asked questions on digital asset transactions (FAQs 64, 81, 97, 108) · Internal Revenue Service · published · accessed
- [6]TD 10000: broker reporting regulations, incl. the wallet hardware and software example (89 FR 56480) · Federal Register · published · accessed
- [7]Public Law 119-5: disapproval of the DeFi broker rule · U.S. Government Publishing Office · published · accessed
- [8]Removal of the DeFi broker rule (90 FR 30825) · Federal Register · published · accessed
- [9]IRS Revenue Ruling 2023-14 (staking rewards) · Internal Revenue Service · published · accessed
- [10]IRS Rev. Proc. 2024-28 (wallet-by-wallet basis) · Internal Revenue Service · published · accessed
- [11]IRS Notice 2026-20 (broker lot identification through 2026) · Internal Revenue Service · published · accessed
- [12]Ways and Means approves digital assets tax bill (H.R. 10357) · EY Tax News · published · accessed
- [13]Senate blocks CLARITY Act 49 to 50 · The Defiant · accessed
- [14]Phantom: tax forms · Phantom · accessed
- [15]MetaMask: tax FAQs · MetaMask · accessed
- [16]FBI IC3: 2025 Internet Crime Report · FBI Internet Crime Complaint Center · published · accessed
- [17]FBI IC3 PSA: non-custodial wallet users targeted through NFT airdrops · FBI Internet Crime Complaint Center · published · accessed
- [18]FTC: people reported losing $3.5 billion to imposter scams in 2025 · Federal Trade Commission · published · accessed
- [19]FTC: those urgent emails from MetaMask and PayPal are phishing scams · Federal Trade Commission · published · accessed
- [20]FTC: what to know about cryptocurrency scams · Federal Trade Commission · accessed
- [21]CFTC: Pause Before You Pay advisory · Commodity Futures Trading Commission · published · accessed
- [22]CFTC: recovery frauds advisory · Commodity Futures Trading Commission · accessed
- [23]SEC investor bulletin: crypto asset custody basics for retail investors · U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission · published · accessed
- [24]FakeWallet: crypto stealers in the App Store · Kaspersky Securelist · published · accessed
- [25]Malicious Firefox add-ons target crypto wallets · Socket · published · accessed
- [26]Fake Ledger app on Apple's App Store (ZachXBT figures) · The Block · published · accessed
- [27]NYDFS: regulated virtual currency businesses · New York State Department of Financial Services · accessed
- [28]MoonPay: licenses · MoonPay · accessed
- [29]MoonPay: widget FAQs (sell availability by state) · MoonPay · accessed
- [30]Robinhood: Robinhood Connect · Robinhood · accessed
- [31]PayPal: cryptocurrencies terms and conditions · PayPal · published · accessed
- [32]Transak: global coverage · Transak · accessed
- [33]Ramp Network: supported countries, territories and US states · Ramp Network · accessed
- [34]Banxa: supported countries and US states · Banxa · accessed
- [35]Simplex: supported locations · Simplex · accessed
- [36]Topper: terms of use (New York limits) · Topper by Uphold · published · accessed
- [37]Paybis: US terms of service · Paybis · published · accessed
- [38]Stripe: crypto onramp terms · Stripe · published · accessed
- [39]Sardine: onramp documentation · Sardine · accessed
- [40]California begins enforcing state-level crypto licensing (DFAL) · Decrypt · accessed
- [41]Trezor Safe 3 (US price, shipping, duties) · Trezor · accessed
- [42]Trezor Safe 5 · Trezor · accessed
- [43]Trezor Safe 7 · Trezor · accessed
- [44]Trezor: is it safe to buy a Trezor on Amazon? · Trezor · accessed
- [45]Trezor: who pays customs duties and import taxes · Trezor · accessed
- [46]Hardware wallet supply-chain risk after the Ledger incident (Trezor reseller cut) · Cointelegraph · published · accessed
- [47]Trezor firmware repository (GPL-3.0) · GitHub · accessed
- [48]Trezor: customer data exposed in shipping provider incident · Trezor · published · accessed
- [49]Trezor: security incident at Brevo, our third-party email provider · Trezor · published · accessed
- [50]Trezor: response to the TROPIC01 chip disclosure · Trezor · published · accessed
- [51]Ledger Donjon: TROPIC01 laser fault injection · Ledger Donjon · published · accessed
- [52]Trezor: trade crypto in Trezor Suite · Trezor · accessed
- [53]Ledger Nano S Plus (US price and chip) · Ledger · accessed
- [54]Ledger Nano S Plus, Wayback capture showing $59 · Internet Archive · published · accessed
- [55]Ledger Nano X · Ledger · accessed
- [56]Ledger Nano Gen5 · Ledger · accessed
- [57]Ledger Flex · Ledger · accessed
- [58]Ledger Stax · Ledger · accessed
- [59]Ledger: terms and conditions of sale (Global-e US Inc.) · Ledger · accessed
- [60]Ledger: authorized resellers · Ledger · accessed
- [61]Ledger Academy: crypto in the USA (Amazon 'Ledger Official', Best Buy) · Ledger · published · accessed
- [62]Ledger Academy: best practices to securely buy a Ledger signer · Ledger · published · accessed
- [63]Ledger: response to the hardware implant attack · Ledger · published · accessed
- [64]Ledger says unauthorized implant found in device sold by CryptoBilis · CoinDesk · published · accessed
- [65]Ledger confirms hidden implant as theft probe grows (loss estimates) · CoinCentral · published · accessed
- [66]Ledger suspends retail sales in Germany as wallet implant probe continues (Bitquery: about $102 million) · crypto.news · published · accessed
- [67]Ledger confirms hardware implant in crypto wallet linked to USD 102 million theft · Analytics Insight · published · accessed
- [68]Ledger asks resellers in seven Asian markets to pull devices · Decrypt · published · accessed
- [69]MediaMarkt pulls Ledger wallets after security incident · Cointelegraph · published · accessed
- [70]Ledger Donjon threat model: device genuineness · Ledger Donjon · accessed
- [71]Ledger: a message from Ledger's CEO on the data leak · Ledger · published · accessed
- [72]Ledger: Connect Kit security incident report · Ledger · published · accessed
- [73]Ledger pledges full compensation for Connect Kit victims · CryptoSlate · published · accessed
- [74]Ledger customers' data leaked via payment processor Global-e · The Block · published · accessed
- [75]Ledger must face claims it failed to safeguard consumer data (Baton) · Bloomberg Law · published · accessed
- [76]Ledger sued for $500M over alleged data breach (Kim, S.D.N.Y.) · crypto.news · published · accessed
- [77]Ledger Academy: what is Ledger Recover · Ledger · published · accessed
- [78]Ledger Recover (ID documents, Coincover) · Ledger · accessed
- [79]Ledger Academy: buy crypto in Ledger Wallet (Cash App Pay, no buy fee) · Ledger · published · accessed
- [80]Ledger Support: buy crypto with PayPal (US only) · Ledger · published · accessed
- [81]Ledger Support: how to sell crypto in Ledger Wallet · Ledger · published · accessed
- [82]Ledger Support: sell crypto with Transak · Ledger · published · accessed
- [83]Ledger: CL Card availability page · Ledger · accessed
- [84]Ledger: Ledger Card (US waitlist) · Ledger · accessed
- [85]Ledger: stake Ethereum (Lido fee) · Ledger · accessed
- [86]Phantom: feature availability by region · Phantom · accessed
- [87]Phantom: Cash bank withdrawal fees · Phantom · accessed
- [88]Phantom: debit card availability · Phantom · accessed
- [89]Phantom: Cash identity verification (ITIN not accepted) · Phantom · accessed
- [90]Phantom: prediction market disclosures · Phantom · published · accessed
- [91]CFTC Staff Letter 26-09 (Phantom no-action relief) · Commodity Futures Trading Commission · published · accessed
- [92]Phantom: CFTC no-action relief scope · Phantom · published · accessed
- [93]Phantom: swap fees · Phantom · accessed
- [94]Phantom: supported networks · Phantom · accessed
- [95]Phantom: hardware wallet support · Phantom · accessed
- [96]Phantom: buy crypto providers · Phantom · accessed
- [97]Phantom: PSOL liquid staking fees · Phantom · accessed
- [98]Trust Wallet: perpetual futures (regional availability) · Trust Wallet · accessed
- [99]Trust Wallet: Stablecoin Earn (restricted regions) · Trust Wallet · accessed
- [100]Trust Wallet: event markets guide (predictions paused) · Trust Wallet · published · accessed
- [101]Trust Wallet: bStocks tokenized shares (US persons not eligible) · Trust Wallet · published · accessed
- [102]Trust Wallet: introducing Cash App Pay, powered by MoonPay · Trust Wallet · published · accessed
- [103]Trust Wallet integrates MoonPay Headless for US users · Trust Wallet · published · accessed
- [104]Trust Wallet: buy crypto (partners) · Trust Wallet · accessed
- [105]Trust Wallet: browser extension v2.68 incident update · Trust Wallet · published · accessed
- [106]Trust Wallet completes first batch of compensation (reported, citing a Trust Wallet post on X) · Bitget News (Foresight News) · published · accessed
- [107]Trust Wallet: terms of service (HKIAC arbitration) · Trust Wallet · accessed
- [108]Lin v. Trust Wallet: opinion and order compelling arbitration (S.D.N.Y.) · U.S. District Court, S.D.N.Y. (copy on Internet Archive) · published · accessed
- [109]Trust Wallet home page (100+ blockchains) · Trust Wallet · accessed
- [110]Trust Wallet: swap FAQ · Trust Wallet · accessed
- [111]Trust Wallet: llms-full (platform swap fee) · Trust Wallet · accessed
- [112]Trust Wallet adds Ledger support via its browser extension · ForkLog · published · accessed
- [113]SEC EDGAR: Exodus Movement, Inc. filings · U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission · accessed
- [114]Exodus Movement Form 10-K, fiscal 2025 · Exodus Movement (SEC filing) · published · accessed
- [115]Exodus: how can I buy bitcoin and crypto (US partners by state) · Exodus · published · accessed
- [116]Exodus: sell crypto with MoonPay · Exodus · published · accessed
- [117]Exodus: why is my asset unavailable to swap (New York, Washington) · Exodus · published · accessed
- [118]Exodus: which features vary by location · Exodus · published · accessed
- [119]Exodus: getting started with Exodus Pay (card availability) · Exodus · accessed
- [120]OFAC: settlement with Exodus Movement, Inc. · U.S. Department of the Treasury, OFAC · published · accessed
- [121]Exodus: WalletConnect and dApp browser removed from mobile · Exodus · published · accessed
- [122]Exodus: what is an exchange spread · Exodus · accessed
- [123]Exodus: how to stake crypto · Exodus · published · accessed
- [124]Exodus: Ledger hardware wallet support · Exodus · accessed
- [125]Exodus: getting started with Trezor Safe 7 on Exodus Mobile · Exodus · accessed
- [126]MetaMask: buy providers and payment methods (US) · MetaMask · accessed
- [127]MetaMask: how to sell crypto for fiat · MetaMask · accessed
- [128]MetaMask: buy FAQs (1% fee) · MetaMask · accessed
- [129]MetaMask: swaps user guide (0.875% fee) · MetaMask · accessed
- [130]MetaMask: getting started with MetaMask Card (US sign-ups paused) · MetaMask · accessed
- [131]MetaMask: introducing MetaMask Card (update June 3, 2026: US sign-ups paused) · MetaMask · accessed
- [132]MetaMask: what is perp trading (restricted regions) · MetaMask · accessed
- [133]MetaMask: how to trade predictions (restricted regions) · MetaMask · accessed
- [134]MetaMask: real-world assets (tokenized stocks not available in the US) · MetaMask · accessed
- [135]MetaMask: user update on the security incident · MetaMask · published · accessed
- [136]MetaMask: hardware wallet hub · MetaMask · accessed
- [137]MetaMask: security alerts · MetaMask · accessed
- [138]MetaMask: Pooled Staking rewards · MetaMask · accessed
- [139]Rabby: how to use Rabby Swap (0.25% fee) · Rabby · published · accessed
- [140]Rabby: how to use Rabby Bridge · Rabby · published · accessed
- [141]Rabby: 0% swap fee token pairs · Rabby · published · accessed
- [142]Rabby changelog: stablecoin swaps fee-free · Rabby (GitHub) · published · accessed
- [143]Rabby: supported networks and tokens · Rabby · published · accessed
- [144]Rabby: supported hardware wallets · Rabby · published · accessed
- [145]Rabby extension locale strings (region gates for Perps and Prediction) · Rabby (GitHub) · accessed
- [146]Hyperliquid: interface terms (restricted persons) · Hyperliquid · published · accessed
- [147]Rabby Wallet on the US App Store · Apple · accessed
- [148]Rabby: terms of use · Rabby (GitHub) · published · accessed
- [149]Rabby extension audit reports · Rabby (GitHub) · accessed
- [150]Least Authority: Rabby Mobile final audit report · Least Authority · published · accessed
- [151]Rabby wallet exploit prompts users to revoke access · The Block · published · accessed
- [152]Phantom: terms of service · Phantom · published · accessed
- [153]Trust Wallet on the US App Store · Apple · accessed